We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Visalia

Save Saved
You added Marriott Visalia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Visalia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Marriott Visalia is a nice hotel with a great location. The convention side has a nice view of the city and mountains in the distance. There are many restaurants and small shops within walking distance. The Starbucks and hotel restaurant are both very good.

The downside is that the main street side of the hotel is a bit loud and I had trouble sleeping when I was on that side of the hotel. The workout room and spa were both only OK. I've seen a lot better in other Marriott's.

Make sure to visit Sequoia National Forest while you are in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the convention center. The main road on the other side is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Todd S.

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you were able to enjoy the Starbucks and our restaurant upon your visit. We sincerely regret the disturbance. Our downtown location can mean extra street activity, as much as we try to contain it. We will always do our best to meet your requests, we look forward to your return Visalia visit soon.

Regards,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    92
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
59
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here for one night en route from lake tahoe to palm springs. Plus points are a nice big car park. Quick check in and friendly lively bar, the hotel is within easy walking distance of main street where the bars and restaurants are. Rooms are spacious if a little dated. The concierge lounge is nothing to write home about. Food ran out at breakfast and i had to chase up the staff to restock the hotplates. It wasnt really worth it. Runny eggs, ovrrcooked bacon and stale bread. So to sum up its okay in parts good but not excellent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I believe the hotel is in the process of being rebranded, so perhaps it and the staff were not at their best. The restaurant was shut for a convention/meeting of some kind- and odd thing for an hotel to do without an alternative eating place. The staff were blase about this, and not at all helpful. But to be charitable, they were perhaps feeling a little insecure. The location, thankfully, is handy for the main street with lots of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Mr. Skipper,

I apologize your experience was less than exemplary. We are certainly not being re-branded and am concerned how that impression came across to give you that feeling. Marriott Hotels and Resorts has create a new greatroom atmosphere, whereby our dining experience is a lounge lobby dining. Our dining room is open for breakfast and by popular demand, and the new greatroom experience efforts, we host our lunch and dinner in our lobby lounge. I apologize that we did not make that very clear, as you were unaware this was your option. I would love if you have the opportunity, please contact me directly, as I wish to understand more of your experience.

Regards,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foligno, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times and I would never change if I have to be near Visalia.
It is not far from Sequoia National Park, so if you are on the way from Los Angeles or San Francisco, you might stop and spend the night there. Walking distance from the hotel you have few good choices of restaurants: the Italian and the Brazilian ones are very good!
The parking is quite large and free of charge, so definitely a good place if you have your own or a rental car. Highway 99 is pretty close.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Gianluca, Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of your stay, our team appreciates your loyalty to our hotel during your central valley travels, we hope you come back soon and can enjoy more of the shopping and restaurants, it truly is a great community and place to explore.

Many Thanks,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is older but has been kept in very nice condition. The staff is good, the services seem to be good and it is very conveniently located. We were there on a weekend, so I can't comment on the concierge lounge. The air conditioning blew cold but has been set so that the room did not fully cool off but this hotel was better than most. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the charming downtown. The hotel gave us a map with 45 restaurants on it, all within walking distance on Main Street. See my review for Fazio's which was terrific. The hotel restaurant is only open for breakfast (very good) but dinner was available in the bar area. There was a big party going on in one of the convention rooms (it is close to or part of the convention center) so we didn't try the food. It looked simply but good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you, for your review, we are so glad to hear you got to enjoy the downtown Visalia experience. Our team looks forward to having you again, we would love to serve you in our new Marriott Greatroom, as folks seem to enjoy the evening atmosphere over the dining room. Thanks again for staying with us!

From all of us here at the Visalia Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Excellent central situation, plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from. Good fitness room, even a shoe shine stand.
Breakfast room is very small. Worth checking if any groups in house and if they have included breakfast and what time they are leaving. Go early or later....overall, pretty good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This Marriott is close to the centre of Visalia yet it's surprisingly quiet. It's a useful base if you want to visit the National Parks nearby. The hotel is comfortable and the staff welcoming. We ate in the bar area and I can recommend the Caesar salad with chicken, plus the blue cheese salad with the steak.

Room Tip: For a quiet night ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Visalia

Address: 300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Visalia 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.