We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not amazing.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Visalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Visalia to your Saves list
Marriott Visalia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not bad but not amazing.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here for one night en route from lake tahoe to palm springs. Plus points are a nice big car park. Quick check in and friendly lively bar, the hotel is within easy walking distance of main street where the bars and restaurants are. Rooms are spacious if a little dated. The concierge lounge is nothing to write home about. Food ran out at breakfast and i had to chase up the staff to restock the hotplates. It wasnt really worth it. Runny eggs, ovrrcooked bacon and stale bread. So to sum up its okay in parts good but not excellent.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    99
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
38
63
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I believe the hotel is in the process of being rebranded, so perhaps it and the staff were not at their best. The restaurant was shut for a convention/meeting of some kind- and odd thing for an hotel to do without an alternative eating place. The staff were blase about this, and not at all helpful. But to be charitable, they were perhaps feeling a little insecure. The location, thankfully, is handy for the main street with lots of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Mr. Skipper,

I apologize your experience was less than exemplary. We are certainly not being re-branded and am concerned how that impression came across to give you that feeling. Marriott Hotels and Resorts has create a new greatroom atmosphere, whereby our dining experience is a lounge lobby dining. Our dining room is open for breakfast and by popular demand, and the new greatroom experience efforts, we host our lunch and dinner in our lobby lounge. I apologize that we did not make that very clear, as you were unaware this was your option. I would love if you have the opportunity, please contact me directly, as I wish to understand more of your experience.

Regards,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foligno, Italy
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times and I would never change if I have to be near Visalia.
It is not far from Sequoia National Park, so if you are on the way from Los Angeles or San Francisco, you might stop and spend the night there. Walking distance from the hotel you have few good choices of restaurants: the Italian and the Brazilian ones are very good!
The parking is quite large and free of charge, so definitely a good place if you have your own or a rental car. Highway 99 is pretty close.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Gianluca, Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of your stay, our team appreciates your loyalty to our hotel during your central valley travels, we hope you come back soon and can enjoy more of the shopping and restaurants, it truly is a great community and place to explore.

Many Thanks,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel is older but has been kept in very nice condition. The staff is good, the services seem to be good and it is very conveniently located. We were there on a weekend, so I can't comment on the concierge lounge. The air conditioning blew cold but has been set so that the room did not fully cool off but this hotel was better than most. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the charming downtown. The hotel gave us a map with 45 restaurants on it, all within walking distance on Main Street. See my review for Fazio's which was terrific. The hotel restaurant is only open for breakfast (very good) but dinner was available in the bar area. There was a big party going on in one of the convention rooms (it is close to or part of the convention center) so we didn't try the food. It looked simply but good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Marriott Visalia, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you, for your review, we are so glad to hear you got to enjoy the downtown Visalia experience. Our team looks forward to having you again, we would love to serve you in our new Marriott Greatroom, as folks seem to enjoy the evening atmosphere over the dining room. Thanks again for staying with us!

From all of us here at the Visalia Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Excellent central situation, plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from. Good fitness room, even a shoe shine stand.
Breakfast room is very small. Worth checking if any groups in house and if they have included breakfast and what time they are leaving. Go early or later....overall, pretty good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This Marriott is close to the centre of Visalia yet it's surprisingly quiet. It's a useful base if you want to visit the National Parks nearby. The hotel is comfortable and the staff welcoming. We ate in the bar area and I can recommend the Caesar salad with chicken, plus the blue cheese salad with the steak.

Room Tip: For a quiet night ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel as part of our tour of California, Arizona and Nevada. When we arrived at our room we weren't happy with the soundproofing so we changed rooms to 413. The furniture is a lovely dark wood with beautiful granite surfaces. There was a large TV with a lovely polished wooden desk and a very comfy office chair. We overlooked a pretty (and quiet) courtyard at the back. The coffee making area was nice (see photo). The bathroom had a very shallow bath and one had to do a little dance to get into the bathroom and shut the door as the door was very close to the toilet.
We were disapponted that there was no safe. There was just one large bed. This room isnt far from the lifts and the coffee machine. The air conditioning in the corridors was very fierce indeed, we were freezing as soon as we left our room.
We ate in the hotel, chicken and rice soup, fish and chips and creme brulee. The prices were very reasonable.
The trip to the park the next day was fantastic and is one of the very most amazing of memories that will stay with us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Visalia

Address: 300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Visalia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.