We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but it's only ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Visalia

Save Saved
You added Marriott Visalia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Visalia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Santa Clara, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, but it's only ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The check in staff was great, very helpful! Facility is clean.

The room is average size and some of the edges of the walls are coming apart.
Mattresses are not comfortable at all. They tried to pad it with extra mattress padding, but the problem is the cheap mattress, not really up to the Marriott standard I've encountered elsewhere.

Our first night of sleep was so so, given we checked in almost at midnight and were so dead tired we did not care about much. However, the 2nd night was awful due to the what seemed to be "jackhammer" noises coming from within the walls next to my bed. Each time someone uses the plumbing, the noise would start up. This happened at 3 am, then at 6 am, again at 9 am, and at 10am. I called to front desk to complain and was compensated with a free in room service breakfast and free internet for the 2 nights we stayed.

The check out process was very long due to the fact the front desk clerk, Sarah, did not know how to reverse the charges and then the sales manager, Christina, did not know either. I had to wait until Andrea (who was the only one who knew how to reverse the charges properly) to finish with her guest, which was a big group, before helping me. I waited almost 20 minutes...frustrating!!!!

Will I stay here again??? Probably not. I don't need jackhammer noises and a long wait to check out, that's for sure!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if the room has no plumbing problem in the walls, especially room 716!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    87
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
55
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great Marriott property. Excellent customer service. Convenient walking location to downtown restaurants. As an Elite Marriott member, access to a terrific concierge lounge with full breakfast and full evening apps. On-site restaurant continually goes thru transitions: elegant or casual? Not always consistent. I've stayed here numerous times and it is one of my favorite Marriotts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had to go to the Visalia Convention Center for a conference. The Marriott is essentially attached to the convention center, makes for easy stops back in the room during breaks. Can't beat the location. The lobby is updated and contemporary with nice sitting areas for conversation. There's a bar and a full service restaurant (I didn't eat there so can't comment on the food). Sufficient outdoor parking in a well lit parking lot. The doorman was also very helpful. Check in was efficient and the rooms are all updated and very spacious. Even though I was by the elevator, it was very quiet. The hotel is located right at the edge of downtown, and it's a one block walk to Main Street for Starbucks and restaurants. I had my dog with me and it was very convenient to walk him around the hotel and surroundings. Even at night, it felt safe and the area was well lit. This is one of the nicer Marriott's I've stayed at, I was pleasantly surprised and would definitely come back again. Since it was at the edge of downtown, also makes for easy access to the freeways.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton,CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is attached to the Visalia Convention center which made it extremely easy to attend a conference held there. The rooms were comfortable and roomy and everything was well kept. They have a restaurant and lounge which were busy most evenings.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the second floor opening to the lobby below. This is noisy when you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Good rooms; all kinds of services available. Neat downtown area within walking distance; shops, pubs and restaurants abounding. No fee parking; right next to the convention center. $10 a day for internet in room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here twice for business, love this hotel. Great location right off the freeway, walking distance to fun bars, nice restaurants, and great shops. 2 blocks from Starbucks. Lots of free parking, easy access to the convention center. Front desk staff was consistently friendly, eager to help, and very efficient - I'd rank them higher than many other Marriotts. Our company hosted a function here and the catering was FANTASTIC - got rave reviews from all guests, but it's a different staff than in the restaurant, I believe. Hotel seemed a bit pricey for the area, but compared to the others I saw was well worth it.

Room Tip: Views of the mountains are gorgeous from the upper floors at the back of the hotel - try to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

There are two types of visitors to Visalia; those who have family and friends here, and those whose car breaks down on the way to the Sequoias and they find themselves stuck in this middle of nowhere place. Either visitor would do well checking into this above average small town cookie cutter Marriott. The newly remodeled hotel is very comfortable and the beds are excellent. The guest rooms are average in size and well done all the way around. The hotel is located in the center of a depressing downtown area that is not walking friendly because of the homeless and meth addicts waiting for guests with cash to stroll outside the hotel. We were ambushed in the hotel parking lot as we got in our car. The staff of the hotel is friendly, professional and the food in the onsite restaurant was clean and straightforward. So, if your life leads to Visalia--try the Marriott. It is the top choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Visalia

Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Marriott Visalia Hotel
Visalia Marriott
Address: 300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Visalia 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Marriott Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.