We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel next to the convention center.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Visalia

Save Saved
You added Marriott Visalia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Visalia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Ukiah, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel next to the convention center.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Good rooms; all kinds of services available. Neat downtown area within walking distance; shops, pubs and restaurants abounding. No fee parking; right next to the convention center. $10 a day for internet in room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    87
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
55
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here twice for business, love this hotel. Great location right off the freeway, walking distance to fun bars, nice restaurants, and great shops. 2 blocks from Starbucks. Lots of free parking, easy access to the convention center. Front desk staff was consistently friendly, eager to help, and very efficient - I'd rank them higher than many other Marriotts. Our company hosted a function here and the catering was FANTASTIC - got rave reviews from all guests, but it's a different staff than in the restaurant, I believe. Hotel seemed a bit pricey for the area, but compared to the others I saw was well worth it.

Room Tip: Views of the mountains are gorgeous from the upper floors at the back of the hotel - try to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

There are two types of visitors to Visalia; those who have family and friends here, and those whose car breaks down on the way to the Sequoias and they find themselves stuck in this middle of nowhere place. Either visitor would do well checking into this above average small town cookie cutter Marriott. The newly remodeled hotel is very comfortable and the beds are excellent. The guest rooms are average in size and well done all the way around. The hotel is located in the center of a depressing downtown area that is not walking friendly because of the homeless and meth addicts waiting for guests with cash to stroll outside the hotel. We were ambushed in the hotel parking lot as we got in our car. The staff of the hotel is friendly, professional and the food in the onsite restaurant was clean and straightforward. So, if your life leads to Visalia--try the Marriott. It is the top choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Desert
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is fine. Plenty of parking, friendly staff, nice rooms. But don't try to have dinner there. They have some kind of a "restaurant", but it's only open for breakfast and lunch. If you want dinner, they serve it in the bar. And my dinner was terrible. They have a Steak and Lobster special on Wednesdays. $25.00. Salad extra. And the salad was good - i recommend it. But the dinner was barely warm. I sent it back. I got a new dish, barely warm. So i refused it too and it was taken off my tab, with an offer for a desert. The Manager was obviously used to this. With a bad dinner, had no interest in desert. Dinner is certainly an afterthought here. If there is a chef, which I doubt, maybe he should try working at Carl's Jr. to expand his experience and resume.

Room Tip: Away from elevators and ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When our plans for a three day getaway fell through we opted to stay the night in town. It was great. Everything is close to downtown. Walking distance to restaurants and nightlife was perfect to let us relax and 'getaway'.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Clean room, comfortable beds. Close walk to downtown, close to the freeway. We would definely stay here again. We were herein business did not know the area, the staff helped find things for us to do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Tagging along with my husband on business to Visalia,ca I truly had very minimal expectations of finding a hotel that was of decent quality and comfort in this rural part of california. I was pleasantly surprised to find a Marriott that was conveniently located in downtown Visalia, within miles of everything. The accommodations were consistent with a four star Marriott in much larger cities. Rooms had been upgraded with granite countertops and modern decor. The staff service was top notch,very. accommodating and pleasant. In particular, the front desk and bar staff went out of there way to ensure I was comfortable. Overall a great place to stay in Visalia.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Visalia

Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Marriott Visalia Hotel
Visalia Marriott
Address: 300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Visalia 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Marriott Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.