We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly? What a joke!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Visalia

Save Saved
You added Marriott Visalia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Visalia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Visalia
San Clemente, California
1 review
“Pet Friendly? What a joke!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I stay here every year when picking our children up from the local Summer camp in the mountains. This year we have a new addition to the family, a lab puppy. Marriots "pet friendly" policy is to charge a $75 cleaning fee. Not a refundable deposit and not a fee based on size, stay or anything. Our puppy was in his crate the whole night untill we left. The rate I was charged for the room was $95.00. $75.00 is considerably higher than other hotels I since looked into. Bye the way, the hotel is just average but what do you expect for Visalia. Holiday Inn Express, here I come!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    89
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
34
58
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is more than your average Marriott. The personnel are very helpful and go an extra mile to help out. The Concierge floor is the best option and the Concierge lounge personnel are very friendly and helpful. Margo in room service provides better service than any other Marriott. Best place to stay in Visalia.

Room Tip: Concierge floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

In for a business trip (1 day) and found a great rate at the full scale Marriott property in downtown Visalia. Glad I picked this ole gem. Great location near freeway and right smack dab downtown. Great and comfortable rooms. Excellent staff on check in and the resturaunt in the lobby serves up a real nice breakfast buffet (or order off the menu to save money like I did). One thing I really liked is upon check-in, heading to the elevators, I noticed this nice guy offering an old fashion "shoe shine." Very cool to have this service in this hotel and what a shine he gave my pair of old workhorse shoes. Pretty cool offering! Great place and exactly what you expect from the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed one night on a business trip. The room was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately, it was very hot that day/evening, but the AC unit in my room would not go below 68 degrees (I suspect the room was actually warmer than what the thermastat read) and I had trouble sleeping in the stuffy room. The hotel is just a few blocks away from the small but cute downtown area so it's pretty convenient. The woman who checked me in was very friendly and pleasant, but I noticed my coworker (who was checking in right next to me) was treated quite rudely by the manager checking him in. I think we both left the experience pretty neutral overall on this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed three nights in Visalia as my "glam base camp" for exploring Kings Canyon and Sequoia Parks. First, the pros, I agree with most other reviews in that the room was quite average, great bed, clean with a nice Flatscreen-TV and silent air conditioning and friendly service. Parking is free, WiFi isn't - but available. Cons: Service elevator makes rumbling sounds like a jet flying over the hotel. Management had received complaints before and has had the elevator company out several times to fix it?!? Your receipt says you can do check-out on the TV, after trying without success called the front-desk and they said it was broken?! Gym is nice, but a couple of the free weights show cracks in the dumbbells, so I'm not sure how safe. Unfortunately, a little league team of over 20 kids took over the pool on Saturday night for a pizza party, so I wasn't able to enjoy the pool with the mob. There was lots of little things wrong a few I mentioned above. The hotel is busy so I figure management is over-whelmed with the business and is unable to keep things working smoothly. I'll won't be back and I'll look for a place to stay that is closer to the national parks.

Room Tip: My room was in the 30's request a room in the low 20's this away from BOTH elevators, main a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The good: Fast check in, friendly staff, clean and spacious room, good location in the city center of visalia and close to the hgwy and sequoia national park

The bad: noise outside of our room starting 3am, the pool and pool area could be more clean

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muechen, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed there one night only passing through Visalia. This place was really a surprise. While the room was quite average, clean though, with nice Flatscreen-TV and silent air conditioning what really stood out was the lovely service. Since we only had few hours to spend and were looking for a nice place for dinner, the concierge was more than helpful. She shared her personal local experiences and was a pleasure to chat with.

Location is also exzellent, just a few steps into the city centre. Parking is free, WiFi isn't - but available. This nice place would have been worth more than just one night.

Room Tip: As usual, the higher the better. Rooms facing North are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Visalia

Address: 300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Visalia 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.