We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Visalia

Save Saved
You added Marriott Visalia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Visalia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Visalia
La Quinta, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Marriott standards, nice and clean hotel. Rooms are updated and nice. lG flat screens in the room. Beds are comfortable, down type comforters. Bath is roomy and clean. The only thing was the front side of the hotel has traffic noise, clerk said she didn't have any rooms available in back. I also heard a humming no use all night from an unknown source. Food at bar was actually very good, home made type tacos and chips.

Room Tip: Ask for room in rear and upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    94
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
59
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern U.S.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Hotel seemed almost empty, but my room was excellent. . .easy parking.

I was on the Concierge floor, and the Lounge was suppose to open at 5 pm Sunday. I asked at Front Desk, and person said it would open. I ran an errand and came back. She said it was not opening that evening but handed me a coupon for a complimentary appetizer at the bar.

Went back later and ask the bartender what my choices were. He said we have a special appetizer for guests when lounge was not open. I waited about 10 minutes, and he brought a delicious chicken and rice preparation with a great sauce (maybe cheese and tomatoes). More than an appetizer. . . . more like a meal. I would order it off the menu.

On the edge of the highway going to Yosemite. . .. a great place to position yourself to drive out to the Park the next morning.

Explored around and found a great bakery two blocks away and bought cookies to take to the Park. . .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here for one night. Overall I was not impressed with this hotel but the location in downtown Visalia was excellent and the staff were friendly and accommodating. The main issues surrounded the housekeeping; There were stains on the bathroom door, hairs in the tub and on the floor as well as dirty drinking glasses in the room. The shower also had a cheap plastic shower curtain liner. The other main issue was the group of un-supervised teenagers in the gym/pool area. At one point they were utilizing all the treadmills to see who could run the fastest without falling off, making exercising as an adult impossible.

The lobby had an inviting bar/restaurant area which were both deserted on a Sunday night. There was ample free parking available and you could walk to a number of restaurants/bars in the downtown area.

While this hotel is probably the best in Visalia, especially the downtown area there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Recently stayed at the Marriott Visalia. Great location to stay if you will be visiting the Sequioa National Park. Brian Cox was a fantastic desk manager, who went above and beyond the call of duty. He recommened a fantastic little cafe called the Country cafe that served a wonderful breakfast, with hearty sizes and extremely friendly staff. Brian provided an abundance of information including brochures and maps. The level of service we recv'd was simply amazing and can not bestow enough gratitude toward Brian. He should be promoted and conduct all the hotel training as he is the epitome of good service. And make sure you're you get up for the breakfast as it can be a little crowded and it does end kinda early at 9:30 a.m.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

I came to Marriott Visalia with my wife and two daughters for a 2-day visit to Sequoia National Park. The hotel is 45 min from the park entrance and about 1.5 hours from major park attractions like the Giant Forest. Still, this is a nice hotel and location if you are not a camper or are booking at the last minute (like we did).

The good part is that this is a "predictable" Marriott stay. You get what you expect. Rooms are good in size, and fairly clean. I found some flaws like towels with black-ish and red-ish stains, and a hair on them, but all the rest was good (and I am very demanding on this aspect).

Nice restaurant and services just blocks away. Visalia is a pleasant town and I really enjoyed the time out of the park.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our family stayed for two nights for a full day trip to visit Sequioia National Park. The drive to the park is only about 50 minutes with more time to drive up and into the actual park to see these amazing sequioa trees. Well worth it!! The hotel was clean and the staff were extremely helpful. We were going to LA from Visalia during "carmagedon" when the main highway 405 was closed. The front desk staff (I think her name was Brenda) went above and beyond in helping us navigate around this highway closure. Pool looked nice, however we had no time to use it. Service in hotel retaurant was extemely slow.

I would totally recomend this hotel when staying in the area. Looked liked the nicest option to me.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Wonderful Marriott
This is a very nice full service Marriott located off the 198 Highway and very close (one block) away from Delta Hospital and co-located with the convention center.
The room I had was very spacious, clean, and well appointed for the business traveler. There is a restaurant and bar on site, the food was fine and the menu varied. (Note to food service mgr, the French Dip Sandwich was not up to standards. The beef was sliced thinly, and over cooked. Consider making it a prime rib dip)
For premium Marriott members there is a complimentary lounge on the 14th floor. It has a full buffet breakfast with hot and cold choices, and in the evening there is light finger food with a no host bar.
The front desk staff were very personable, accommodating, and a pleasure to deal with.
The hotel was very clean and quiet. One feature I like is the AC/Heat unit is housed in the closet making the room much quieter than rooms with wall mount units.
Overall very satisfied

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Visalia

Address: 300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Visalia 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.