We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST to stay if you are having a big EVENT!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center to your Saves list
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A MUST to stay if you are having a big EVENT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed for 3 nights while on a "Business" trip/Grand Council for Job's Daughters of California. I have to tell you that their staff is so friendly and very knowledgeably of the area and the local places. The lobby is SO CLEAN!! The rooms are bigger than you think and I loved the floor plan! The front desk was AWESOME!! If you are need of a group rate make sure you ask for the General Manager they are WONDERFUL!! It worked GREAT for us...we needed the hotel rooms for sleeping and the Convention center for our "Business" part of Grand Council!! I would MOST definitely stay here again if I am every in town. Barbie T

  • Stayed November 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

I stayed at the Marriott Visalia for two nights for business. The facilities were nice and clean, though there was a little wear and tear on the room. The staff were all great and I was able to make a lot of use of the workout room, which had good, updated equipment. There was a little noise between rooms and definitely some from the hallways.

  • Stayed December 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

First, let's be clear. I ordered the room through one of the Negotiator web sites. Not that it should make any difference in the quality of the place, but still... Transparency.

Check in went well. Staff was courteous. No bell staff at 7PM. Maybe there never is.

Room was standard corporate fare. Look, you roll into a Marriott, you know what the room's going to be. Toilet seat was off kilter and had some chips. Well, it's not like it's a premium hotel in a real city, right? You gotta take things like that into account.

King bed, lots of pillows, comforter... wait.. is that a funky shaped yellowish stain on the comforter/blanket? Kinda looks like... You KNOW what it looked like. GET IT OFF THE BED NOW!

No food available. Walked to nearby restaurant. That's a story for another rating.

Thanksgiving Day and we're ready to eat and hit the road. Down to a wonderful breakfast. Omelette bar, beautiful breakfast buffet... Mmmmm. Cant' wait.

The breakfast buffet was pretty sparce. Cold sausages. No eggs. No bacon. Warm, soft, diced potatoes. You know the ones. They come in a bag from he frozen food section of your local grocery store? Miscellaneous stale pastries. Waffle machine covered in goo. Some fruit. Some breads. [sigh] Try the omelette.

Cook was obviously not interested in being there. Sparce mixture of ingredirents, unfinished eggs, and poor execution. Okay, this was a bad idea.

My girlfriend ONLY wanted bacon and eggs. No eggs? Sh'll settle for bacon. No bacon?? Waitress said she'd take care of it and came bag with a bowl full of bacon. It had obviously been dumped in the fryer. Mmmm... chicken flavored bacon.

Try again. Not deep fried this time, but burnt to a delicate black char.

Manager wrote off our meal. Worst food I have ever been subjected to at a Marriott.

Visalia Marriott? Isn't there a Best Western nearby?

Room Tip: A different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiepat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, Manager at Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are mortified to hear about your experience at our hotel. We hope to provide each guest with a clean and comfortable stay every time, and clearly failed to meet your, and our, expectation. Please accept our sincerest apology for falling short during your stay. We will be sharing your comments with the appropriate departments to ensure corrective measures are taken immediately to address the issues you experienced. If your travels bring you back to Visalia, we hope you will give us an opportunity to host you again. And I truly hope that we will be able to not only meet but exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

I stayed here for a quick business trip. My room was on the 2nd floor right by the elevators, and the 2nd floor is open overlooking the lobby where the restaurant is. Because of this is was very loud until the restaurant closed late at night.

My room was pretty average, you could tell it was older, with some black in the shower, etc... Also, I wouldn't say it was the cleanest. I had my phone on the night stand and it fell off, when I picked it up off the floor, it was covered in dust and dirt - kind of gross.

All of my staff interactions were pleasant and I did eat at the restaurant, I had the tacos and they were pretty good.

  • Stayed October 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, General Manager at Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2015
Carly E,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take these comments very seriously and will follow up immediately with housekeeping, as this is certainly not the norm at our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience and hope that you will give us another opportunity when your travels bring you back to Visalia.

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

We come here pretty often (on our way to Napa or Tahoe) and I have never thought it was loud. I never noticed any fwy sounds or hospital sounds.. There is no concierge although the website mentions it. They do offer (elite mbrs) a choice of appetizers. I gotta say the appetizers are ridiculous but I wouldn't turn them down.Choices included chips and salsa or a cheese plate. I forget the other choices..not memorable. Cheese "mini" platter is about 16 small cubes of yellow/pepper jack cheese and about 8 crackers. It is a small portion. The appetizers should be better. I wish they had a little bottle (a split) of wine offered with the appetizer, then it would feel more fair and a very nice touch. The breakfast buffet is very good, albeit expensive, with made to order omelettes. Luckilly, it is free for platinum (unsure if so for gold). The staff there is very nice/good/attentive. This hotel is right next to some really good restaurants, such as Vintage Press and Gorilla quesadilla. (faves).
The staff has ALWAYS been friendly and, we have been here many times over the years. No, it's not JW standard, but it's freakin' Visalia. The last guy did forget that we were elite (so what?) had a welcome bag but we reminded him. The (platinum) welcome bag had 2 waters and 2 small pouches, 1 candied almonds and 1 walnuts. Yummy almonds, actually, but the walnuts were walnuts-about a handful.
Wifi was good. lobby was remodeled a while back. It is pretty nice. Yeah, they always forget my choice of "extra feather pillows". They forgot both times when we were there in October. Those huge block pillows are only useful if you want to sit up in bed and watch tv. And about TV, both times they did not have a channel guide and we had to call down for one to be brought up. The second time, they sent up a printed copy. gotta fix that bec it is very hard to figure out the channels-there are so many. The mechanic was awesome. He was there in a flash to fix the compressor or whatever it was so that the AC started up again. I think his name is William and he is always there and is extremely helpful, and genuinely nice. Door guys are friendly.
The other reason I have 4 was the price! If you go at the right time, the deals can be good. Bed is comfy. I wish they had a safe in the room. ugh.

  • Stayed October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky-McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

I booked this hotel for one night and requested a quiet room. They failed to inform me it is located 1/2 block from a hospital on one side and a freeway on the other. There were 3 helicopters that landed and took off in the first 2 hours I was there. Very loud.
Let's not forget the rudest bar tender in the nation and the two smarmy young dim front desk people.
The saving grace was Manny the bell man and one of the managers John. Both were professional and top knoch. The rest of the the entire hotel needs a retraining in customer service. Too loud and rude for me stay somewhere anywhere else.

Room Tip: There isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiakoloaWahine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, Manager at Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We make every effort to ensure a comfortable stay for every guest at our hotel, and unfortunately we fell short in meeting your expectations and for that we are extremely sorry. Rest assured, we will share your comments and insight with the appropriate team members so we can continue to improve on our customer service. Once again, we are truly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

For me, the staff is always the most important part of the stay and the front desk staff at the Visalia Marriott was top-notch. The hotel itself had frayed carpeting in the hallways and marks on the walls throughout. The room was clean and well-appointed.
The downtown area around the hotel was lively with a farmers market, a brew pub and good restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingenheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrie g, Manager at Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. Our staff will be delighted to hear your comments. Your feedback about the carpet and the walls is extremely important to us. We will make sure to share your feedback with the appropriate department so that we can address those issues. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#4 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Visalia
Fairfield Inn Visalia
#8 of 14 in Visalia
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 300 South Court, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Presidian)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Visalia Hotel Visalia
Visalia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing