We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Sequoia Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Sequoia Area to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Sequoia Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1400 S. Mooney Blvd., Visalia, CA 93277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

My worst hotel experience ever : no service (rooms stay uncleaned, breakfast never refilled, personel stands there and does nothing). Free wireless internet, but if you want to use their pc, you'll have to pay. Just awfull restaurant.
I complained afterwards and they just responded that i should have done it while i was there.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    19
    5
    12
See reviews for
13
23
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Stayed one night with reward points. Checkin was easy and fast and there was plenty of parking. Room was clean, basic, and the beds were comfortable.

The TV had only static for sound, no big deal for us. Breakfast is same as most Choice hotels: toast, cereal, coffee. Just enough to get you on the road.

Multi color fish-wrap at front desk.

The location is nice. Close to Sequoia National Park, and there is lots of shopping and dining choices near by.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed at the Econolodge Visalia for two nights.

Our first impresion: despite its prime location, it's not really an hotel but a motel. It doesn't have a restaurant; many guests kept their rooms' doors open while watching TV half-naked; A/C units are noisy.

But there were lots of good things: people were nice and friendly, rooms were ok. Beds were comfortable. We had the pool for ourselves. The kids had a great time there. The wi-fi didn' work upstairs but there was a PC available in the lobby.

The self-serving breakfast was very poor: coffee and juice machines, plus milk, cereal, sliced bread. But there is a 7-11 across the street. It was good to have a microwave, a mini-refrigerator and a coffee machine in our room.

We went to Visalia in order to visit the Sequoia National Park. We just needed a place to stay and our expectations weren't high. Overall, it was an OK experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We booked a king bed thru hotels.com which was to be on the first floor. The Econo Lodge said they only had a room on the 2nd floor - my mother is handicapped and cannot climb stairs. Hotels.com says they guarantee nothing. The Econo Lodge manager after 2 hours of negotiating, suddenly had a room on the 1st floor but "it will cost you $8.00 - no make that $24.00 more". We were left stranded by Hotels.com and the Econo Lodge manager was holding out for more money. Finally at 11 p.m., I was able to locate another hotel that was quiet, with double beds, and on the first floor. This is no way to treat an 88 yr old woman.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

It was hot and the pool was closed and I could not take a swim. They refused to comp the pool closure into my room rate. The nearest ice machine was broken and the motel front window is broken presenting a rather shabby appearance in general. I'll never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

Loved the room. Was big and had free coffee in room, lots of cable channels. Nice cool ac. Great breakfast bar in lobby, and free wifi. Very reasonable and nice. Look forward to being there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley of the Sun
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

This hotel should be reported to the city of Visalia for all sorts of violations. The entire property is unkept somewhat dangerous. Apparently the owners are trying to squeeze every cent they can out of the propery without investing anything back into their "golden goose." The one night we stayed at the hotel there were some obvious illegal "transactions" taking place. Although, in all fairness this is not uncommon in the hotel industry it is usually more discreet. The mattress in our room was worn out and the pillows were flat and hard as a rock making our attempts at a restful sleep impossible. The next morning out continental breakfast consisted of dry cereal, milk, coffee and toast. We passed on it. But what could we expect for less than $50.00 per nite? We checked out the next day and for $20.00 more we went to the Lampliter Inn for an absolutely enjoyable experience and a good nites sleep.

  • Disliked — The hotel seemed to be dirty and unkept. Owners just seem interested in making money no matter what.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Sequoia Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Sequoia Area

Address: 1400 S. Mooney Blvd., Visalia, CA 93277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Sequoia Area 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Sequoia Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Sequoia Area
Econo Lodge Visalia
Visalia Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Sequoia Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.