We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly but.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Sequoia Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Sequoia Area to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Sequoia Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1400 S. Mooney Blvd., Visalia, CA 93277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Westminster, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Budget friendly but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for just clean bed and private shower, this is a place to be. Building was outdated. Room has mini fridge, microwave, wifi with a very poor connection and old furnitures. Has noisy AC too. Breakfast consists of cereals,danish,toast,milk and juice. Lady employee not so helpful. Neighborhood looks scary esp. at night. Good for a short stay and for those on a budget. An hour drive to Sequoia Park via hwy 198.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    19
    5
    12
See reviews for
10
23
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This old motel could use some TLC, even though my room was clean and comfortable, the outside of the place and even the driveway is in need of some remodel work or just plain cleaning up. The furnishings in the office/dining area need replacing as do the tables. but the food offered is quite good and the area clean.

The neighborhood, though just down from the college campus is somewhat questionable and the traffic on Mooney is constant, so a room farther from the front is desirable. The off-street parking is secure, but the driveway itself could use some serious repaving.

The internet was fast and excellent, but my room was right off the office, which could have contributed to the quality, as I've read other reviews that stated otherwise. All in all, for the money this isn't a bad place, it's just old and looks it.

Room Tip: Use your room fan to lessen the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

After I checked in I asked for the wireless internet password and was told the network was down. That meant two of the things promoted on the hotel website, the pool and the internet, were both unavailable. In the evening a lightning strike knocked out the power in Visalia, so from about 7pm to 5am there was no electricity (I don't blame the hotel for this). The loss of power overnight meant no hot water in the morning.

One positive, before the power shut off the air conditioner cooled the room down very nicely. It was a bit loud, but did the job well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

we had no choice to stay here as it was sold out everywhere else due to Memorial Day weekend. If you like very soft/mushy/worn out mattresses and enjoy hearing your next door neighbor's conversations, especially the footsteps/bathroom showering from upstairs, then this is the place for you....the only thing that was mentionable was the decent continental breakfast...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not very clean place and stains on furniture. They have limited selection for breakfast and you can not take food out of the small eating area. We end up had coffee across the street. We got this mystery hotel and if you a choice pick another place. By the way, the pool is closed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Please don't waste your money here people.. its so unsanitary. Literally semen stains on furniture. Weird smells. Just the worst place ever once your book in they wont refund. Black people especially STAY AWAY. They told us they wanted a $200deposit . We commented we wanted it back in the morning jokingly. The man replied don't steal anything huh? They assumed since we were a black couple we were up to illegal activity. Which is funny because I come from a family of the law and correctional department and my boyfriend is in the marines. I am not familiar with the area so Idk what they have witnessed but never judge a person off the last persons faults. Its called racially stereotyping. Horrible service horrible people horrible room. Plus we had to call the cops just to get our $200 deposit back because I washed my face make up on a wash towel. Really. The cops came inspected the room laughed at the owners over the one towel the could be wash. Which makes me assume they don't use bleach on their linens disgusting. We got our money back for the deposit and left in utter horror from our hellish stay. But if this sounds like a place for u be my guest to be their guest.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Sequoia Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Sequoia Area

Address: 1400 S. Mooney Blvd., Visalia, CA 93277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Sequoia Area 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Sequoia Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Sequoia Area
Econo Lodge Visalia
Visalia Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Sequoia Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.