We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, Nasty Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Sequoia Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Sequoia Area to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Sequoia Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1400 S. Mooney Blvd., Visalia, CA 93277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Valley of the Sun
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful, Nasty Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

This hotel should be reported to the city of Visalia for all sorts of violations. The entire property is unkept somewhat dangerous. Apparently the owners are trying to squeeze every cent they can out of the propery without investing anything back into their "golden goose." The one night we stayed at the hotel there were some obvious illegal "transactions" taking place. Although, in all fairness this is not uncommon in the hotel industry it is usually more discreet. The mattress in our room was worn out and the pillows were flat and hard as a rock making our attempts at a restful sleep impossible. The next morning out continental breakfast consisted of dry cereal, milk, coffee and toast. We passed on it. But what could we expect for less than $50.00 per nite? We checked out the next day and for $20.00 more we went to the Lampliter Inn for an absolutely enjoyable experience and a good nites sleep.

  • Disliked — The hotel seemed to be dirty and unkept. Owners just seem interested in making money no matter what.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    19
    5
    12
See reviews for
13
23
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaside
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

Ok so we check in and get to the room. It is overall somewhat clean. There was holes in the comforter, there were only two tiny pillows on a king size bed. There was one towel and one wash clothe. So we call down to the front desk and ask them to bring us some towels and blankets and they tell us that they can only give us one more towel and one more pillow. Now mind you we have a family of four (two small children). So I took what they could give me. The next morning we woke up late and was in a hurry so we all got in the shower. When we get out there is water all over the floor everywhere. There was no plastic liner. So I then called the front desk and told them that we were all soaking wet and that the floor was soaked and we used our only two towels to clean up the water so that our kids would not fall. He says I canot bring you anything and your room isnt allowed anymore towels. The worst customer service ever. The air conditioners suck. It took 7 hours to cool the room off. When you walked across the floor(we were on the second floor #231) there were places in it that it felt like the floor was going to fall through.

I work for a hotel and I would have been fired if I would have acted like that to a guest. I would not recomend this hotel to anyone. Not even in an emergency!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Absolutly nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

We had a family emergency on Christmas day forcing us to Visalia, we had to book a room at the drop of a hat , we were on a budget and ended up here.
First and formost our room had no smoke detector, just a hole where it should be ( I reported this to officials) secondly the carpet was filthy, and appeared to have had water damage. I walked accross the room in my bare feet after a shower and they were dirty. Furniture seemed to be randomly placed.
I checked the bed and it seemed OK We only stayed because we were exhausted after long hours at the hospital.
I wasn't expecting the Ritz but this was just awful!! Motel 6 would have been better and as it turns out cheaper too.

  • Liked — I liked nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2006

I recently spent three nights here and had a very comfortable stay. This is not the Ritz, but its basic amenities are clean and the staff are nice. I booked online and got a good rate on a room that had two queen beds, refrigerator, microwave, and automatic coffee maker. Cable TV selections were more than adequate. Coffee was provided free of charge. There's also a pool available, which undoubtedly comes in handy during the extremely hot San Joaquin Valley summers. When I'm back in the area, I'll definitely swing back by.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Sequoia Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Sequoia Area

Address: 1400 S. Mooney Blvd., Visalia, CA 93277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Sequoia Area 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Sequoia Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge Sequoia Area
Econo Lodge Visalia
Visalia Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Sequoia Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.