We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Italian restaurant in Downtown Visalia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Italy

Little Italy
303, West Main street, Visalia, CA 93291
(559)734-2906
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 237 restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cozy Italian restaurant in Downtown Visalia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a very pleasant dinner on a Friday night at Little Italy. I had read lots of reviews, some good, some bad, but went with an open mind and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. I ordered the veal piccata with bow tie pasta. It was really flavorful, and the pasta was some of the lightest, tastiest I have ever eaten. My husband had spaghetti with meat sauce, and it was very robust and tasty as well. The wait staff was very welcoming and efficient. We would definitely eat here again when travelling through the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    12
    9
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best spaghetti with meat sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Best spaghetti with meat sauce. Fresh bread. Great pizza...cooked in wood fired oven. Downtown location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Not bad Italian Restaurant abroad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had dinner here during our vacation in Visalia. It is located in the main street and the place is very nice, with old Italian music in the background. The waiters are kind and nice. We had a good dinner at a fair price. We wanted to eat something healthy and light and were very happy with their minestrone and salads. The only issue was that they had a new credit card program which was not working properly. After trying a few times to use our card they gave up and we paid cash. Yet later we received an sms from our bank stating that we had also paid with the card. We went back and they assured us that they would cancel the transaction.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Many other better choices in Visalia!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Charming atmosphere and great menu. Unfortunately, our party of four was an inconvenience for our server, Wanda. We waited 15 minutes for her to take a drink order as she was busy chatting with other servers, the slow service continued throoughout the evening. one of our four orders was wrong and one was served cold, when asked to have it re-heated, she said she would be "right back" yet walked in the wrong direction while the re-heated plate sat out....yes, it was still cold when "re-served". Finally, it should be embarassing for an Italian restaurant to run out of tiramisu at 7 pm!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“ESCORGOT Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I enjoy all Italian food; but Little Italy's is just SUPERB! My husband and I took some business associates there for dinner and THEY ordered the escorgot. We had never had it before. After tasting this wonderful appetizer.... WE JUST HAD TO ORDER ANOTHER ONE for ourselves! Our dinner was fabulous.... as usual. But, we will definitely be going back soon for some more ESCORGOT!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.