We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Inside...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   623 West Main Street, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better Inside...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

I have been to this hotel quite a few time,while visiting a friend and each time...i was happy to see the cleanliness of the rooms and kindness of the staff.The outside looks to be a little seedy,but after you see the room...that quickly dissolves.The best word to describe the room is Comfortable.It is a place again that i have stay at 7 times and would stay there again.

The only draw backs are the tiny pool and the narrow parking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    12
    20
    25
See reviews for
12
28
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights and drove bck and forth to Sequoia National Forest each day. National Park campsites are $10 to $20 and that's w/out air-conditioning and your own shower, plus you have to haul all your stuff and protect from bears. So instead of opting for camping, we spent <$60 night here. Clean, friendly staff, location walkable to downtown restaurants, quiet neighborhood. They're a Choice Privilege location, too, so you can earn points for your stay. It's a little tricky to find, but take Mooney, follow it north where it turns into Main, then follow until you see the sign. Parking is covered, so your house won't get HOT in the sun.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
People's Republic of California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

On Saturday, Feb 3rd, we rented 3 rooms at the new Rodeway Inn in Visalia, CA. This motel was recently converted to a Rodeway Inn, it was a Best Western. We do work in Visalia and have stayed there many times over the past 10 + years. It has been 2 years since we have been to Visalia, we understand that ownership changed sometime ago but the conversion to a Rodeway is recent.

After our experience on the 3rd, we will never stay there again. This motel was once a nice, well maintained, family run and managed older motel. There is no longer any real management on the premises. The hotel staff are ex-convicts and recovering drug addicts and alcoholics. Some of the occupants are there as monthly residents. It has been my experience that when a hotel or motel starts taking residents, it is no longer a safe place to stay. Others who came and went all night long appeared to be gang members. They were in and out of their rooms running up and down the stairs and halls. I was awake until about 3AM.

Under the previous ownership and management, this hotel was always very busy. Typical customers, travelers looking for a safe, clean and inexpensive place to stay. It was striking how empty the motel was on Saturday night. Of course, the only customers were the residents, gang members and us.

The motel was in good clean condition. It looked as though it had been recently painted, new carpets, etc. The way it was being managed was confusing.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

This is a tiny, run down property with a miniature pool.

The room was OK and was clean, but was about 100 degrees when we arrived at about 10:00 at night. The AC worked, but took a couple of hours to cool down the room.

The parking was unbelievable - I would never park in their spaces - so tiny you couldn't open the door of an average car once it's parked. I have no idea how the drivers got out. We parked across the street.

The breakfast was OK but it was VERY crowded - one microwave and one waffle iron for everyone; needless to say our family shared one waffle and when there was a space for us to make another one the breakfast was over and no more waffle mix!

The guy at the desk took NO pains to help in any way.

Spend the extra $$ and stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — It had towels.
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed here for one Sunday night in July this year during our tour of the Grand Canyon, Las Vegas, Monument Valley, Sequoia National Park and down the coast to Los Angeles.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and nicely decorated. It certainly is an older motel, but was very quiet considering we were on the main street.

The only really negative factor was that the small pool was full (and I mean FULL) of children screaming and playing for hours. They looked to be the children of the staff who worked there. However, come darkness, they all disappeared. Aterwards the pool didn't look clean enough for me to venture in!!

Breakfast was basic, but I liked the waffle maker.

On the whole this was not a bad hotel.

  • Liked — The standard of room
  • Disliked — Dirty pool
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2006

Motel sounded great online, but is actually quite old and run down. Rooms were clean, bathroom was small. Parking is a problem. Only one handicapp parking space. My elderly parents had to climb stairs because there is no elevator and no double rooms available on the first floor. Their website lists a restaurant. There isn't one. They have coffee thermoses and a do-it-yourself waffle iron in the lobby, but only two little tables. I would not recommend unless price is very important to you. Spend the extra $20 and stay at a newer motel.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2005

Stayed here on 9/4/05. This hotel is right downtown, near city hall, etc. We met fire trucks going in, and I thought that might be a problem with the sirens. But the manager said he had an "understanding" with the fire captain, and they always waited until they were well away to turn on the sirens. The motel is not much to look at on the outside, but the rooms are well lighted, clean and very comfortable, and the front-desk staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast had the usual continental items, and make-it-yourself waffles. Reasonable senior rate:$75

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visalia hotels
1.6 mi away
Lamp Liter Inn
Lamp Liter Inn
#5 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marriott Visalia
Marriott Visalia
#6 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia

Address: 623 West Main Street, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Visalia hotel is located in downtown Visalia - walking distance to restaurants, bars, the Visalia Convention Center, and the Visalia Police Department. Stay at this hotel on your visit to Visalia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Visalia
Visalia Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.