We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not liked” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   623 West Main Street, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not liked”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Cheap an quite good location to visit Sequoia National Pak, but not clean . Smell outside, rooms not clean, hairs found in bathroom and in beds
The night was awful thanks to the air conditionning noise
While breakfast is included, we preferred to escape as soon as possible ant take it elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    11
    19
    20
See reviews for
10
27
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

i been to this hotel a few time when it was Rodeway Inn...and it wasnt bad at all...price was good,rooms clean,comfortable and cozy.I was here again under new management and new name.When i first checked it out online( TripAdvisor),i was wondering why the management kept sending apology emails after some reviews...but since i been here before,i didn't pay it no mind.When i went to check in,the lady was very kind and pleasant and got my room quickly. Now i have stayed at this chain before in different cities.These rooms don't look nothing like the ones that i expected...i knew the size of the room would be much smaller than the ones that you typically find in this chain...no problem.the look of it lost the comfortable and cozy appeal that you or i got when it was the Rodeway Inn...now having hard wood floors and doesn't have the warmth that you would typically feel....which was a shock.the price was higher than i expected also from a little over 50 USD to now a little over 70 USD....

Overall i think the rooms should have stayed the same and the price isn't bad but i personally don't feel it is worth the amount that this hotel NOW charges. So now my review sadly enough has dropped and i think that i will be looking for other hotels to stay,when i am in Visalia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good location, in the centre of a small city named Visalia. Good if you want to go to visit Sequoia National Park by car ( about 45 minutes ). Not expensive, so I'm not disapointed about the price , I just want to prevent another travellers

Lies: Please, don't say that "Continental Breakfast is included " !!! They don't have a place for guest to have breakfast, the only thing they have it's on the same reception, a disgusting coffe and some pastries ( if you're lucky and they are not already finished, like it happened to me ). And also I booked the room because it was annonced as a "smoking room", but when we arrived there, it was not possible , because she said ( the young girl at the front desk ) that: we only have a few rooms for smoking people and I've already gave them to other people who has arrived sooner". We arrived at 5pm, it was not so late, but anyway, then reservation it serves at what ??? And she was not very helpful, I asked how to go to the centre, and she only asked "we are at the centre" ( ok, I know, but I have to go right or left for restaurants, for example? I don't know the city !!! )

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

This place smells bad, and its lil dirty inside and outside. But its in good location near Starbucks and its cheap

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Front desk staff seemed nice enough when checking in. Once in the room (1 of only 2 on the ground floor) there was a strange smell, somewhere between cleaning products and dirty nappy(diaper)? The place seemed clean enough & the shower was one of the better I have had. The WiFi was rubbish, it kept dropping out every 3-7 min, which was so frustrating.
The person behind the desk at night was rude when I asked for a face washer ( there was only one in the room & three towels) Breakfast was a bit of a joke, coffee and a choice of three different packaged pastries, ooh and some O.J.
The place seemed to be run down and not really taken care of, doesn't seem American owned.
I would drive for another hour before I stayed here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I made a point of taking a "virtual tour" of this motel before I made our reservations. The virtual tour is very deceptive. Expecting a modern and clean motel we were very disappointed when we arrived to find it somewhat run down, rooms totally unlike the virtual tour, shabby and without amenities expected. One of the double beds was precariously perched on a single bed boxspring. There was a constant sewer odor emanating from the bathtub drain. We purposely booked this motel because it advertised a continental breakfast - what a joke - coffee & packaged pastries!!! We ended up having to go out for breakfast which cost us over $50.00/day for 5 of us. I was very embarassed as I had booked my sister and brother-in-law from Canada a room as well. It should be against the law for motels to show a virtual tour of a decent motel and when guests arrive find totally unacceptable accomodations. The Visalia Chamber of Commerce should be ashamed to list this motel in their publication. The only acceptable thing about this whole stay was the friendly and helpful daytime employee.

Room Tip: do not rely on their Virtual Tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKPatel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We apologize for your disappointment with your stay here at the America's Best Value Inn. Since your stay there have been some upgrading and changes made to improve the property and its guest rooms. I hope that in the future you do consider us again when in the area.

Thank you for your review as every review is an opportunity to make improvements.

Best Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Needed somewhere to sleep in Visalia and found this. Nothing special but nothing wrong with it either really. Although on main road wasn't noisy. Breakfast had wafflemaker which was a plus.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKPatel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Disappointed Guest,

I am the new manager here at the America's Best Value Inn in Visalia and have had an opportunity to look at the reviews posted regarding this property over the last year. I understand where your disappointments are and can assure all fellow travelers that this is not the case any longer. We have made upgrades to our guest rooms and made changes in the staff that will assure that reviews like this are in the past.

I appreciate your input even though it was 7 months ago, I still see it as an opportunity to improve our services and amenities. I hope that you also re-consider staying at our property again in the future as I know that you will have a different experience.

Thank you for your input..

Best Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia

Address: 623 West Main Street, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Visalia hotel is located in downtown Visalia - walking distance to restaurants, bars, the Visalia Convention Center, and the Visalia Police Department. Stay at this hotel on your visit to Visalia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Visalia
Visalia Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.