We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   623 West Main Street, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Gosford, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Frustrating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Front desk staff seemed nice enough when checking in. Once in the room (1 of only 2 on the ground floor) there was a strange smell, somewhere between cleaning products and dirty nappy(diaper)? The place seemed clean enough & the shower was one of the better I have had. The WiFi was rubbish, it kept dropping out every 3-7 min, which was so frustrating.
The person behind the desk at night was rude when I asked for a face washer ( there was only one in the room & three towels) Breakfast was a bit of a joke, coffee and a choice of three different packaged pastries, ooh and some O.J.
The place seemed to be run down and not really taken care of, doesn't seem American owned.
I would drive for another hour before I stayed here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    11
    17
    15
See reviews for
7
24
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I made a point of taking a "virtual tour" of this motel before I made our reservations. The virtual tour is very deceptive. Expecting a modern and clean motel we were very disappointed when we arrived to find it somewhat run down, rooms totally unlike the virtual tour, shabby and without amenities expected. One of the double beds was precariously perched on a single bed boxspring. There was a constant sewer odor emanating from the bathtub drain. We purposely booked this motel because it advertised a continental breakfast - what a joke - coffee & packaged pastries!!! We ended up having to go out for breakfast which cost us over $50.00/day for 5 of us. I was very embarassed as I had booked my sister and brother-in-law from Canada a room as well. It should be against the law for motels to show a virtual tour of a decent motel and when guests arrive find totally unacceptable accomodations. The Visalia Chamber of Commerce should be ashamed to list this motel in their publication. The only acceptable thing about this whole stay was the friendly and helpful daytime employee.

Room Tip: do not rely on their Virtual Tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKPatel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We apologize for your disappointment with your stay here at the America's Best Value Inn. Since your stay there have been some upgrading and changes made to improve the property and its guest rooms. I hope that in the future you do consider us again when in the area.

Thank you for your review as every review is an opportunity to make improvements.

Best Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Needed somewhere to sleep in Visalia and found this. Nothing special but nothing wrong with it either really. Although on main road wasn't noisy. Breakfast had wafflemaker which was a plus.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKPatel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Disappointed Guest,

I am the new manager here at the America's Best Value Inn in Visalia and have had an opportunity to look at the reviews posted regarding this property over the last year. I understand where your disappointments are and can assure all fellow travelers that this is not the case any longer. We have made upgrades to our guest rooms and made changes in the staff that will assure that reviews like this are in the past.

I appreciate your input even though it was 7 months ago, I still see it as an opportunity to improve our services and amenities. I hope that you also re-consider staying at our property again in the future as I know that you will have a different experience.

Thank you for your input..

Best Regards,

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Walked into the room and the main light would not work. Reserved a single queen bed and got two queen beds. Upon turning the lights on in the bathroom, I discovered some sort of dried red liquid (possibly blood) all over the lights and wall. The tile in the bathroom was missing grout on the floor. The bathroom wall had some sort of dried substance near the toilet. Went to bed and discovered that every 45 minutes during the night the bathroom light and loud fan would turn on automatically. The sheets on the bed did not cover the entire bed as the maid placed them on sideways for some reason. The feet of the bed had no sheet and the pad was showing. The wall paper was comming off the walls, and the carpet was sticky as if it had not ever been cleaned. Went to the "lobby" for the breakfast and discovered a pot of coffee and six mini store bought blue berry muffins. I am not a picky traveler, but please..... this is one of the worst motels I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Choose a room not at this complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKPatel, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

I apologize for your experience here at our property. I am the new manager here at the America's Best Value Inn and hope to be successful at turning around the opinion of travelers like yourself who are looking for value and good accommodations when on the road.

We have made upgrades in our guest rooms, our breakfast offerings and in our staff performance and hope that you re-consider us when in this area again.

Thank you for the review as we see every review as an opportunity to improve our services and accommodations.

Shelly Matlock
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here two nites when it was in the 100's during the day while visiting King Canyon Nat'l Park. The parking is tight as mentioned in other reviews but our Prius had no problems. We were assigned a room before checkin time which was great as the motel was full when we returned from the Park. The air had been left "on" so it was nice and cool. The amenities of the room aren't that great. Bed was ok. TV was old and snowy. We had a mini-fridge and microwave which were nice to have. They had a special "end of summer" sale on the rooms so the price was great - under $50. Continental breakfast was poor and the coffee not good at all. Altho the proprietess was somewhat reserved, the proprietor was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: 2nd floor near the stairs room has fridge & microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Arrived half an hour early for the 1pm check in, so went for a wander for a half hour came back and room still wasn't done.... repeat until 3pm! However, aside from being a little disorganised at the start the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room looked a little tired but was spacious and clean, bed was comfortable with lovely big fluffy pillows. Internet connection was good. Did not take advantage of breakfast so can not comment on that.

Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Our room was so dirty, and the wall paper peeling off so much that we could not get a good night's sleep. The air conditioning unit was quite loud. Yes it is a good location for those wishing to visit Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon, and for those who are very cheap, but there are better choices. Unfortunately we arrived late and had no other choice. The "breakfast" was coffee and a meager offering of cheap pastries. We would not stay there, ever, again. Very small swimming pool available but it looked dirty as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia

Address: 623 West Main Street, Visalia, CA 93291 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Visalia hotel is located in downtown Visalia - walking distance to restaurants, bars, the Visalia Convention Center, and the Visalia Police Department. Stay at this hotel on your visit to Visalia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Visalia
Visalia Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.