We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop on our way to Sequoia NP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9000 W. Airport Dr., Visalia, CA 93277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stop on our way to Sequoia NP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Made this reservation to go to the Sequoia NP, relatively close by. Good reception, friendly staff, nice pool outside (our room had view on the pool , but all was quiet after 10) (inside pool with strong chlorine as expected) Comfortable beds, good breakfast with plenty of choices, has exercises room as well. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Had a view on the pool, was still not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    98
    57
    15
    13
See reviews for
85
86
10
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I can't believe this is the same hotel I favorably reviewed last year.
From check-in to check-out everything went bad. Check-in was in rapid-fire boilerplate speech, hardly intelligible. No "Rewards" swag bag, not even a bottle of water. "Tony" promised to deliver some waters, never did.
The room was dirty: dusty lamps, filthy toilet, cracked sink, trash behind the curtains, and a dead bug on the sheers. The TV remote was missing parts, and there was no guide to the channels. The WiFi was impossible to hook up, and the "instructions" were totally wrong.
Calls to the desk for service (i.e one small soap for two people for two nights?) were not responded to for hours or not at all. Maids knocking on the door early, for no discernible reason, despite the "Do Not Disturb" sign and the late check-out arrangement in place. The cafe service was erratic: day one I waited at my table and asked three people for some coffee, all ignored me. Finally a manager came by and took pity on me! Day two, OK service, same staff. What the heck?? Conference lunch was cold cuts, salad, bread, iced tea, and mayonnaise packets...hardly worth $12 to make your own sandwich.
The hallway outside our room had an open electrical box, looked unsafe.
I won't be attending this training session next year but if I were I would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
The Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel and Conference Center Team would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your recent visit. In an effort to create a solution for the noted dilemma and to avoid any re-occurrence, your review has been submitted to the corresponding departments for management review. However to further understand the situations you encountered, we would greatly appreciate if you would provide the General Manager with details of the situations to info@altamonthotels.com.

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review our hotel, as this information aids in creating a higher quality product for our guests to enjoy. If your future travels bring you back to Visalia, CA; we would like to invite you back to our hotel and allow us the opportunity to impress you.

Thank you,

The Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel and Conference Center Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times for our Emblem Club meetings. It's as central to all the clubs in the states as we can get. We request certain rooms to be near the meeting space, they have always been able to accommodate our requests. It's a large hotel but, the staff is friendly and remember us from previous visits. The event staff is very good in anticipating our needs and always willing to help us wherever needed. The food is very good. You can eat in the restaurant, bar or they do banquets also. Our room is always clean and well stocked. Yes the AC is somewhat loud but when it's really hot outside who really cares. They have both an indoor pool and hot tub and an outdoor pool. Too bad they only stay open till 10. A nice soak in a hot tub with a glass of wine after a long day of meetings would be lovely. The maid service is very good. It never fails if I leave my room for a meeting when I return my room has been freshened up. I never hesitate to make a reservation here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Our baseball team traveled from Oahu,HI to compete in the Cal Ripken Pacific Southwest Regional tournament. From Day 1 of check in, we were welcomed with a friendly staff, housekeeping kept our rooms stocked with fresh towels, necessities and my very comfortable bed was always fixed perfectly. We are also grateful for the hot breakfast that was served daily. I was eager to go back to the hotel after our daily outings. When travelling to an unknown area, nothing beats coming "home" to a clean and safe place to stay. Thank you to the staff of the Holiday Inn Visalia!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Easy to find, right off the freeway and the staff was very nice.

We ended up having to extend our stay and Bob was awesome, took care of everything without a glitch. We had a late breakfast at the California Cafe on site and Tisha was great. We had technically gotten there at lunch time and she checked with the kitchen and they fixed us a wonderful breakfast (eggs, bacon and country potatoes)

They also have a bar on site that was hopping all weekend in the evening

This was a group booking and I'm glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: Rooms by the interior pool I would shy away from unless you are planning on spending time in the int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed here one night enroute to the Wine Country from Sequoia National Park. Room was ok but clearly in need of updating. Included hot breakfast at on-site cafe which was adequate. Check-in was friendly. Overall I did not think this was a good value.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear BartLasVegas_Nevada,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the pricing structure of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Large property, so ensure your room doesn't share a wall with the indoor pool (lots of rooms do...it's what makes the pool an indoor one. The issue is the classic "holidome" problem from back in the day...the modest yet unrelenting smell of chlorine in your room. No remodel can solve it. But it's avoidable...get a room that doesn't share a wall with the indoor pool; done. Property is in great shape, free breakfast is ridiculously good. I'd stay here again without question (just in a different room). 40 minutes to the south entry of Sequoia.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms which open up to the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center

Address: 9000 W. Airport Dr., Visalia, CA 93277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Visalia Holiday Inn is San Joaquin Valley s largest full-service hotel with conference center between Sacramento and LA, bordering Plaza Business Park and the 40-acre Plaza Park with the PGA-rated, 27-hole Valley Oaks Golf Course, 8 tennis courts, a fishing pond with wild ducks, and walking and jogging paths.Experience the Fox Theater, home to Tulare County Symphony, our quaint and charming downtown with free trolley, art galleries, art walk tour, antique shopping on Main Street, 200 restaurants, the Chinese Cultural Center, Murals of Tulare County, Children s Museum, Bravo Farms for artesian cheeses and wine tasting and the year round wonderland of nearby Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. Guests enjoy award-winning dining in Café California, specialty drinks and an extensive appetizer list in Mahoganys Lounge. Relax and unwind in our heated outdoor pool, indoor pool, Jacuzzi or fitness center. Business travelers enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel, business center, executive boardroom, 12 banquet rooms, two ballrooms (5-1000 attendees). Hotel is smoke-free. Complimentary airport shuttle from Visalia Municipal Airport with scheduled air service from Great Lakes Airlines (code share United + Frontier) between LA/Ontario Intl Airport + hubs in DEN, PHX, ABQ, MCI, MKE and STL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Visalia
Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel And Conf Center
Visalia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.