We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to Sequoia National Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9000 W. Airport Dr., Visalia, CA 93277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to Sequoia National Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel itself is good. Nice rooms and nice lobby.

We got a nice and comfortable room. Zero view but it was ok.

The only thing was the elevators. Only one of the two was working and it took forever, even if nobody else was using it. Most people, including me, opted to just use the stairs.

Other than that, good hotel, good price and good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay at our hotel. Unfortunately at the time of your stay, we were having technical difficulties with our elevators that since have been repaired and are fully functional. However, we are very pleased to learn your accommodation was comfortable, priced reasonably, and our lobby was to your liking.

We would like to thank you for your feedback as this helps our management team create a higher quality product for our guests. We hope that in the future if your travels bring you back to Visalia, CA, you will give us another opportunity to better serve you.

Thank you,
The Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conference Center Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    100
    58
    16
    13
See reviews for
89
89
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend because we were in town for an event. Our room was fine, I liked that each bed had 4 pillows instead of the 2 that are usually standard! Our children enjoyed the indoor pool, but it gets very steamy and loud in there since there in no ventilation! Also, if you have a room that faces the highway, it is very loud!! Kept me awake a lot! The breakfast buffet in the morning had a large variety and the kids ate free, which was a bonus!

Room Tip: Don't get a room that faces the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
The Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conference Center Team would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We are deeply concerned when a guest does not enjoy their stay and thus affects the total guest experience. Since we understand our guests have different comfort levels, we highly encourage all our guests to inform the front desk agents when their room is unacceptable. Furthermore, our hotel also offers an outdoor swimming pool that accommodates guests who prefer a more traditional pool setting. However, we are extremely pleased you enjoyed our bedding organization and breakfast buffet.

We truly appreciate your feedback as this assists in providing a better quality product for our guests. If you make a future reservation at our hotel, please inform us at info@altamonthotels.com and we will do our very best to accommodate you in your preferred room location. We hope you will choose to stay at our hotel again, as it will be a pleasure to serve you.


Thank you,

The Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conference Center Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Clean and quiet room with lots of space. Good breakfast. Great location near Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon National Park. I would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay close to the big trees.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After arriving late and finding no attendant at the La Quinta to give me my reserved room, the Holiday Inn saved the day and provided me with a room. The room was nice but we got a room facing the highway and I thought a truck was going to drive through the window all night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Southbay_Traveler76,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after a long day in the Sequioas. Very friendly staff. From check in to check out everyone was very friendly.
The rooms and facility were very clean. It is a pet friendly hotel but there was no signs of pet odor anywhere. Its is right next to the freeway and a small airport. Noise was not a factor at all. Coupons for free breakfast buffett for two. Wonderful selection of food. Indoor and outdoor pool with towels available.

would recomend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights attending a convention with 350 attendees. Our room was on the 5th floor. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. We had an executive room with refrigerator and microwave. When you check in ask about the breakfast buffet special. It appears they don't have it all the time, but it can't hurt to ask. The buffet offers a good variety of items.

Room Tip: it was quiet on the 5th floor. rooms near the indoor pool are exposed to the chlorine smell from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during our weekend trip to Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Park. It is reasonably priced and about 1 hour drive away from both parks.

I would give a higher score if we were not assigned in this odd room. It is on the 2nd floor facing their indoor pool. Yes, in door pool, this means the only window we have is toward a room. It is noisy, no privacy at all (can't have the blind off or everyone in the pool can see the room). There is no natural light from outside. I believe rooms from 210-220 are facing the indoor pool.

There were two weddings during the weekend we stayed. The music was super loud and was on till 2 in the morning. It is impossible to go to sleep with such music on. I specifically asked a quiet room and was told the one I got was quiet. I am not sure if it's true. Anyways, it is only noisy on Saturday night.

Please make sure to pay extra $16/room for their breakfast, it's worth it. Kids can eat free when adults purchased the breakfast. They have the best choice and service.

I would go back again, but make sure not to stay in the same room.

Room Tip: avoid room 210-220.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear RetailSolutions,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay

It is very unfortunate that your stay with us was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the noise challenges the event has caused you and for the dissatisfaction you had with the room assigned to you. We regret the negative experience and impressions you may have had.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We appreciate all guest feedback, and strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center

Address: 9000 W. Airport Dr., Visalia, CA 93277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Visalia Holiday Inn is San Joaquin Valley s largest full-service hotel with conference center between Sacramento and LA, bordering Plaza Business Park and the 40-acre Plaza Park with the PGA-rated, 27-hole Valley Oaks Golf Course, 8 tennis courts, a fishing pond with wild ducks, and walking and jogging paths.Experience the Fox Theater, home to Tulare County Symphony, our quaint and charming downtown with free trolley, art galleries, art walk tour, antique shopping on Main Street, 200 restaurants, the Chinese Cultural Center, Murals of Tulare County, Children s Museum, Bravo Farms for artesian cheeses and wine tasting and the year round wonderland of nearby Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. Guests enjoy award-winning dining in Café California, specialty drinks and an extensive appetizer list in Mahoganys Lounge. Relax and unwind in our heated outdoor pool, indoor pool, Jacuzzi or fitness center. Business travelers enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel, business center, executive boardroom, 12 banquet rooms, two ballrooms (5-1000 attendees). Hotel is smoke-free. Complimentary airport shuttle from Visalia Municipal Airport with scheduled air service from Great Lakes Airlines (code share United + Frontier) between LA/Ontario Intl Airport + hubs in DEN, PHX, ABQ, MCI, MKE and STL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Visalia
Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel And Conf Center
Visalia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.