We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Respectable older holiday inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9000 W. Airport Dr., Visalia, CA 93277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Respectable older holiday inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Decent older hotel here. The remodel is ok but not fabulous. Right next to park and long road great for runners. Staff was very good and bartender poured a stiff Jameson and coke. Room was well equipped and wireless had good signal. Breakfast was better then most hotels with multiple hot choices. Bag for holiday inn prefered customer was better then other holiday inn's. If it was a new facility it would have gotten 5 dots

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    98
    57
    15
    13
See reviews for
85
86
10
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is old and over priced for what you get. I like new hotels. Wish I had stayed in Fresno. For the same price I'd get a new four star hotel suite but Visalia does not have any selection or competition. I will chose to drive 45 mins in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Nice Lobby and hotel is in a convenient location right next to a beautiful park that has a lake. The lady that checked us in was cold and kinda rude. I was asking her some questions about the hotel restaurant and what was good and specials they had and was told to go look for myself. She was 100 percent useless. The room was decent but the air conditioning did barely enough to keep the room a reasonable temperature.

The biggest thing that bugged me about this place is how they advertise free breakfast all over there websites. I booked my room by bidding on a 3 star hotel in Visallia on Priceline and because I booked my room this way they wouldn't let me have breakfast. I've used Priceline to bid on rooms many times and have stayed at many holiday inn expresses and have never been denied their breakfast. I didn't have then energy to argue with them. How cheap can you be!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srummage, General Manager at Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Mr Learned,

On behalf of the entire Holiday Inn staff I would like to apologize for the less than stellar service you received during your recent visit. We are accustomed to always giving exemplary service to all of our guests. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the quality of our guest’s experience.

In reference to the breakfast mishap, all Holiday Inn Express Hotels are required to provide free continental breakfast to all of their guests. Our Holiday Inn however, is a Full Service hotel with an actual restaurant on premises. We have chosen to provide a Full American Breakfast to be included with qualifying rates. Our breakfast packages are in accordance with certain rates booked online that will state if breakfast is included. Unfortunately Priceline, Orbitz etc. rates do not meet the threshold due to their deep discounted rates. I am sorry for the misunderstanding, and we are looking forward to having you and yours back at our premises soon.


Samantha Rummage
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here in May for a family reunion that was held at a nearby KOA and since we do not have a trailer this hotel was recommended by family nearby.

We checked in late in the afternoon after spending a hot windy day with family. We headed to our room to relax and shower so we could go to the bar/restaurant for drinks and dinner. It being a Saturday night, there was live music in the bar and unfortunately at 8pm it was so loud that we had to sit in the lobby with our drinks to visit with family that was also staying there. At 8:50 we were told we only had 10 minutes to get to the restaurant and place our order for dinner. The staff was very accommodating and we never felt rushed as we ordered appetizers and another round of drinks before we had our dinner. Unfortunately our breakfast experience was not as good. We felt that by 2 of the 3 of us ordering the buffet (it was free with our reservations since we were priority members) our service dropped down to almost zero. Our waitress took 5 min to even come to our table and take our order for coffee. Another 5 minutes and I went looking for coffee. Found some placed around the small dining room with to-go cups there and filled our own. 15 minutes later our waitress comes by to let us know that the order was made wrong and it would be another 5 minutes. She never realized that she forgot to bring us coffee and seeing the to go cups did not even bother to offer to refill them as they were empty.

Once the order was received, the bill was brought right behind it. It was only $7 but I still left a tip based on the value of the 3 meals. She never came around to get the money so we got up to leave. As we were going by the hostess desk our waitress was standing there chatting to the hostess and neither one of them acknowledged us by saying good-bye, thank you etc etc.

Full disclosure there was a large party leaving as we were seated and she spent much of her time closing out the checks/tips once they left. When I looked around the small room, there was only three table left in her area and one of those was also leaving.She was probably a little overwhelmed but you cannot avoid or slight the remaining customers.

So I am not going to give a bad overall rating for this one waitress, but it was frustrating. The hotel was nice and clean but Holiday Inn really needs to upgrade their pillows. We had a King bed and 4 small hard pillows.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear fu3l3x,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel as well as the value and cleanliness of our room. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered during your breakfast. We take your comment seriously as it gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California, United States
1 review
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Dog friendly , clean, Really nice breakfast buffet , we asked to check out late and there was NO problem. Can't say enough good about this place. O YEAH, The staff FANTASTIC !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel is okay. It is pretty big hotel and the front desk staff is really nice. The gentleman at the front desk who helped me checked in was really helpful. The only down fall was I requested for a non smoking room, and I end up being in a room that smells like smoke. I don't like complaining but the room really smell bad. You can smell the smoke when you first open the door. Other than that we like the hotel and the kids loved the inside pool. The location of the hotel is really great because there is a park next to it and the hotel was located right off the freeway.

Room Tip: When you ask for no smoking room, make sure you check them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear AppreciateHope,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We are pleased you mentioned our friendly staff services. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have stayed here several years running for the annual International DX Convention (amateur radio). And, as a midway stopping point on our way to Lake Tahoe.

The service is great and the staff are always ready to help in any way they can, from the front desk, housekeeping, restaurant and cocktail lounge. There are numerous restaurant choices within a few minutes drive down Hwy 198. Just ask the front desk for recommendations; they will provide a printout of local favorites. Free wi-fi and free parking are also included.

Room Tip: Main building has quieter air conditioning and south side rooms are also quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center

Address: 9000 W. Airport Dr., Visalia, CA 93277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Visalia Holiday Inn is San Joaquin Valley s largest full-service hotel with conference center between Sacramento and LA, bordering Plaza Business Park and the 40-acre Plaza Park with the PGA-rated, 27-hole Valley Oaks Golf Course, 8 tennis courts, a fishing pond with wild ducks, and walking and jogging paths.Experience the Fox Theater, home to Tulare County Symphony, our quaint and charming downtown with free trolley, art galleries, art walk tour, antique shopping on Main Street, 200 restaurants, the Chinese Cultural Center, Murals of Tulare County, Children s Museum, Bravo Farms for artesian cheeses and wine tasting and the year round wonderland of nearby Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. Guests enjoy award-winning dining in Café California, specialty drinks and an extensive appetizer list in Mahoganys Lounge. Relax and unwind in our heated outdoor pool, indoor pool, Jacuzzi or fitness center. Business travelers enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet throughout hotel, business center, executive boardroom, 12 banquet rooms, two ballrooms (5-1000 attendees). Hotel is smoke-free. Complimentary airport shuttle from Visalia Municipal Airport with scheduled air service from Great Lakes Airlines (code share United + Frontier) between LA/Ontario Intl Airport + hubs in DEN, PHX, ABQ, MCI, MKE and STL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Visalia
Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel And Conf Center
Visalia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Visalia Hotel & Conf Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.