We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better bet for steak in Visalia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Restaurant

Tommy's Restaurant
130 N. Encina Ave., Visalia, CA 93291
559-627-6077
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 239 Restaurants in Visalia
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Welcome to Tommy's Restaurant located in downtown Visalia, CA next to the historic Fox Theatre. With four distinct dining rooms and a separate lounge, Tommy's Restaurant is a popular gathering place for locals and discerning travelers alike. Using the freshest ingredients - from seasonal vegetable to hand-selected steaks - Tommy's serves uniquely bold flavors with exceptional taste. Join us for lunch, dinner or drinks with friends including daily bar specials at one of Visalia's finest restaurants.
Visalia, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better bet for steak in Visalia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Tommy's does a good job on steaks- I recommend the prime rib or the cedar planked steak- good stuff! The last time I was there in April, the food was great, but the service from our waiter was absolutely awful. He was more interested in talking to the person he knew at another table than handling his tables. First negative experience at this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    2
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
fresno, ca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“awsome place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Dinner is always great here, and the desserts are wonderful too. Small bar to the side, but we are diners- reservations recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“most popular with the locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

fantastic food...this is one of the most popular resturants/bars, in Visalia...this is a classy place and is not cheap, very nice and the food is fantastic...don't skip the bread pudding,,,,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“By far the worst restaurant experience ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We had dinner for 4 at Tommy's in Visalia last night. Our daughter and her boyfriend who live in Visalia recommended Tommys to us. Our evening got off to a rough start from the beginning. My wife had to ask for a new drink because of how bad it was. The men at the table ordered steaks, which were highly rated by the server. When all of our meals arrived, both steaks were so over done that we asked for new ones. Our server apologized and said that he would have the chef prepare 2 new ones. In the meantime I had asked for a new drink. When it was served it was so poor that I asked for a new one. When the replacement drink arrived it was as bad as the one I had rejected. By now the server again passed by our table to inform us that our steaks would be served in 3 minutes. When 18 minutes had passed I knew that our replacement steaks were probably going to be overcooked again. Sure enough they were. By now the women had completed their meals. The steak was so peppery that it was not edible. Trying to salvage the evening, we ordered dessert, which was very good. At the end of the meal the server presented a bill for $236. He took it upon himself to add 18% gratuity, didn't deduct a $25 gift certficate that we had presented to him at the beginning of the meal, and more importantly never offered to make the meal right by deducting the bill the cost of the uneaten steak and still full drink. I have never had such a poor experience at any place in my life! If that is the best the Visalia has to offer, I feel sorry for Visalians!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of Visalia's better restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

A bit overpriced for what you get but still a very good restaurant for either lunch or dinner. Not on the level of of Vintage Press or Jack and Charlie's, but still one of the better of Visalia downtown's over 50 sit down restaurants.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tommy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.