We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5438 West Cypress Ave, Visalia, CA 93277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quick stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were coming back from Sequoia late at night and needed a nice place to rest our heads. We tried three other hotels before this one, and they were all booked up. We got the last room at La Quinta that night. It was a king suite, which wasn't ideal with kids; but with sleeping kids in the car and it being almost 10 pm, we decided we would make it work. The lady at check in was polite and ended up giving us a slight discount for the room, which was nice. There was a pull out couch in the suite, but the bed on the couch was pretty awful, so we just had one of the kids sleep on the couch covered with a blanket and it worked out nicely. Breakfast in the morning was pretty typical of hotels these days. Not outstanding, but it's free and filled us up for the car ride back home. It was a bit overpriced for the length of time we were there; less than 10 hours, but it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
17
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Hampton Inn was booked so we got a room here. Smelled strange in the lobby & in our room. Bathroom floor was dirty. Wall by bathtub had mold & drywall flaking off. Ran out of toilet tissue! Very noisy in the hall & room above. Bed was not bad but a warmer blanket would have been nice. Saw men outside with no shirts on smoking & talking loudly - seemed a but odd so I would not recommend a woman staying here alone. Pool reeked of chlorine. Breakfast was so so. Was mot worth the money. Next time I will go to Fresno to get a room. La Quinta Inns are not consistent. I read good reviews and wonder if this is the same hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had a great stay.. Place was Nice & Clean, swimming pool was heated & the staff was very nice and friendly.. location is right off the freeway.. lots of places to eat in walking distance and so is CVS.. Also has a theam park right behind the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed two nights in this hotel. As I drove into the parking lot, the hotel looked pretty new and well kept, so the first impression was very good. I stayed in one bedroom suite on the third floor, which was very spacious and clean. The room was very quiet - may be due to the double pane windows with two and a half layers of curtain doing a good job of insulating any outside noise. So I slept very well for both nights. The bath room had "Jack and Jill" type door which was accessible from both bedroom and living room. I had to do some work on my laptop in the living room late in the night and could access the bathroom without waking up my wife while she is sleeping in the bedroom. So it was a plus. There was ehternet cable and power outlet on top of the desk which was very convenient for hooking up my laptop to catch up with work. There were two flat screen TVs - one in the bed room and one in the living room. There were pretty good choices for breakfast - coffee, juices, danish, bagels, fruits, cereleal, eggs and sausages. And you can make your own wafflle, too. So we ate there. I didn't have a chance to use the pool or hot-tub, but there were couple of families with children swiming in the pool area. The hotel is located in very nice shooping/office complex and close to many things. To summarize, it it located in good, safe area and it is very well maintained and clean with all the amenities you would expect from good hote. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

After a long day of golf at Visalia country club, it was satisfying to stay at such a nice, clean place.
Rooms are clean, and tidy. Kids can play at the nice indoor pool with choice of hot tub, or can go enjoy an arcade,mini golf, batting cages, and water fun behind La Quinta thats 1 minute away!
Also two main golf courses are only about 5-10 minutes away for every good prices.
Overall i give this place a 10/10 for rooms, activites, staff, and not to forget their breakest is yummy with muffins, juices, coffee, eggs, sausage, and delicious waffles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights recently, with my dogs.
First the room; it was clean enough though the bed cover needed a wash and the chair had a obvious head oil stain. The room also had a huge desk which took up far too much room. The walls were very thin, noise from the room alongside and above were bothersome.
Breakfast was ok, except for the eggs which were inedible.
Usually hotels which take dogs have a potty area and a trash can for disposal. This hotel has neither. I had to cross the parking lot to an unlit area under a tree, and then leave my baggies in the ashtray outside of the side door.
The pool area has fans that make it sound like a jetway. The hot tub jets do not work properly, though when you run them a thick scum develops. There is also a very noticeable dirt ring in the hot tub and pool.
Most disturbing for me (female,traveling alone) were a lot of men bringing six packs and liquor into the hotel. Several times the dining area was filled with guys drinking.
I was down there for an annual dog show. I will probably try a different property next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway

Also Known As:
La Quinta Visalia
Visalia La Quinta
Address: 5438 West Cypress Ave, Visalia, CA 93277
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LaQuinta, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway to your Saves list