We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strip Mall Hotel with Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5438 West Cypress Ave, Visalia, CA 93277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
brenagain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Strip Mall Hotel with Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I was talked into accompanying my husband on his business trip and ended up in a room he booked at La Quinta. My first reaction was to ask "why that hotel?" Husband was quick to respond that it has good reviews and has an indoor spa. With some trepidation, I was open to the experience. Good thing I didn't complain because this little hotel was everything we needed.

Pros:
Good location. This little hotel is situated in a strip mall with a drug store, fast food and gas station. This hotel is within walking distance of the Applebee's as well.

Semifirm King Bed

Large suite size room with separate sitting area

I asked for top floor corner room and got one

I asked for late check out and got it.

Clean

Cons: The indoor jacuzzi was not very hot. It was luke warm. HOwever, the facility has a heated pool so I had one option to dealing with a luke warm jacuzzi.

Room Tip: one side of the hotel is closer to the freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    30
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
25
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect before I got to the motel, some of the reviews I read were a bit iffy and some where amazing, so I went in with an open mind. To my surprise I loved everything about this place. It was a very welcoming environment and I enjoyed my room, it was very clean and up to par, the breakfast was the best continental breakfast I've had, and the pricing was very reasonable.

I came to realize the bad reviews were not reliable and I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night when we decided to make a spur of the moment trip to Sequoia National Park. Our main deciding factor in choosing this hotel was that they accepted dogs (I don't believe there was an extra fee, either). Check in was easy and quick, and our room was clean. The bathrooms are very large and the whole set up was very comfortable.

Our issue was really with our neighbors. The hotel must have rather thin walls/floors, because we got to listen to the guy in the room above us stomp around until about 10pm, when he must have gone to sleep. However, some level of noise should be expected in a hotel and we didn't give it too much thought. Unfortunately, about fifteen minutes after that, a couple checked into the room next to us, and they were SO LOUD. Yelling and nonsense for a while- I ended up taking a sleeping pill and trying to rest. Then they turned their TV on, and it was loud enough that I could perfectly hear every word from my bed in the next room. I tried to ignore it for as long as I could, but ended up going down to the front desk around 1am to plead my case with the clerk on duty. He was very responsive and nice about the whole thing, and he did get the neighbors to quiet down some about ten minutes after I spoke to him. In retrospect, I should have just gone down earlier to complain, but I try to avoid complaining unless its really warranted. After a rather sleepless night, I stopped downstairs, where there was a basic breakfast (continental) that was complementary. My husband wanted to try the waffle place across the parking lot, but in hindsight I should have just gone with the hotel's cereal (restaurant was not so great).

So even though I had a rough time here, it was not because the hotel was bad, just that other guests were. The gentleman I dealt with looking for help with the issue handled it well and never acted like I was being demanding or a burden on him. I would stay at this location again, but I might ask for a room away from other occupied rooms, if it was possible. I rated this hotel as a 4 because the hotel and staff were just fine, and tried not to let the noise thing affect how I feel about the property.

Room Tip: Thin walls- ask for a room without too many neighbors if it's possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Overcharged my card by thousands. Management is very immature and has no clue about customer satisfaction. Noisy rooms, overcooked same breakfast every morning,clumps of black hair in the pool,rude, and lazy staff! What a nighmare!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We ended up staying at the La Quinta in Visalia because every hotel within 100 miles of Pismo Beach was booked, so it was kind of by accident, but we loved it so much we extended our stay an extra night. This hotel was so clean and the rooms were spacious. We got a King room with a desk and a sofa sleeper for $104 a night. The breakfast was delicious with waffles, eggs, sausage, yogurt, pastries, cereal, and 2 juice choices. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Not far from Visalia is the Sequoia national park which is an absolute must to see!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The location was handy, and the parking was easily accessible. We paid extra for a "suite" which included a separate bedroom that could be closed off. Together with its location on the top floor at the end of the hallway, it was reasonably quiet ... although a few times we could still hear shouting in the room below. On the other hand, a true "suite" ought to have two lavs, which this room did not.

The free breakfast is nothing special ... overcooked mini-omelettes with no toppings besides catsup, greasy sausages every morning, peel-it-yourself hard-cooked eggs, and lots and lots of starch. And the standard weak coffee. (How is it that years after the Starbucks revolution, people still tolerate the dishwater that passes as coffee in motel and hotel buffets?)

Housekeeping could improve. We had to check all our towels to make sure they were actually clean.

The "business center" had two computers and a printer that worked sometimes. However, the kids who were hogging the computers to search for porn and get sticky stuff on the keyboards -- ick -- made doing any "business" here pretty tough. A real business center would require key-card access and an adult supervising any kid use.

Lastly, the staff. Oy. I don't want or expect to be called "sir." But having the desk clerk say, "How's it going, Man?" as you pass through the lobby is a bit too informal. What's wrong with, "Good evening. How is everything?".

All in all, this place sure isn't perfect. But it's no worse than any other place in this price range you're apt to find in a place like Visalia.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

This hotel looked very nice...but when the smoke hit the fan management was nowhere to be found. We heard banging above us for about about an hour before my husband got up to check and see what was going on. He looked outside and saw masses of people in the parking lot and several fireengines. He quickly went down to the front desk to see what was going on. The front desk clerk would not respond when asked....so he came back to the room. We were on the first floor and had a window with a nice opening to the outside, so we stayed there until firefighters pounded on the door and said we were to evacuate. Apparently the fire alarms were not working because we never heard them and we did not get a call on our phone. There was smoke coming from an AC unit above us. Unlike the report on the E-net, we were not told we could wait in a nearby resturant.....and neither were hundreds of other patrons that stood out in the parking lot.

When we were let back in the fire alarms went off the rest of the night and we never did sleep. Their excuse was that people were smoking in their rooms and that was not their fault. (It sure would have been nice if the alarms would have worked during the real fire)
We were greeted by a giant cockroach in our sink in the morning.

I e-mailed the manager the next day. There were no apoligies....only a disclaimer that they were not responsible for the fire. The manager would not directly address the management issue, the way my husband's questioning was ignored, or the freindly huge cockroach.

I had to go over the manager's head and call the customer service division They finally said they would refund us for the night after two calls to them.

A wonderful looking hotel.......just hope you are not there when the smoke hits the fan

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway

Address: 5438 West Cypress Ave, Visalia, CA 93277
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Visalia
Visalia La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.