We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, very slow Internet and ok breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9300 W. Airport Drive, Visalia, CA 93277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, very slow Internet and ok breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are quite nice and clean and the beds are comfortable, we brought our memory foam for my pregnant wife and she loved the beds.
The breakfast is ok, there was no sausage or bacon with the eggs which was disappointing but I was told that on Saturday there will be sausage, the coffee is good and so is the hot chocolate.
The staff is nice and helpful but my major issue is the slow Internet which is almost unusable in the weekend, feels worse then dial up, the speed had issues on Thursday as well where its either horribly slow or just disconnects completely. If you need a reliable Internet connection for work or you just want to watch a
Movie get a different hotel because you will not find it here.
The location is by the freeway and there is a nice park for kids a walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna099, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. Comments such as yours enable us to provide better service for our guests. We are already working on the speed of the internet with our provider. We look forward to having you stay again so you can see the improvements. Once again, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
38
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Sequoia/Kings Canyon National Parks. We got stuck in SoCal traffic on the way, so did not check in until 9 pm. The staff were very friendly and our room was great, with a very comfortable bed, but there was really no place to eat nearby. We were directed to a gas station on the other side of 198 that had a Quizno's and Pizza Hut, but those were shut down by the time we got there. If you are coming in late, make sure you eat beforehand.
There is just one washing machine and one dryer, so if you are planning to do laundry here, you may have to wait. We were happy that laundry was even available. We did not use the pool (again, we were too late), but it looked nice. Breakfast was fine - waffles, yogurt, and coffee that disappeared quickly but was also replaced quickly, so very fresh. By the way, if you get a room close to the registration desk, you will be awake early. The staff use a cart to prepare for the breakfast, and it rumbled down the hall several times before breakfast was served. My husband is an early riser anyway, and I wanted to get on the road, so not a huge deal, but if you want to sleep in, ask for a room in a quieter spot.
Visalia was a good stop on the way to the national parks, but if you plan to enter the parks on multiple days, you may want to stay in one of the parks. The accommodations aren't nearly as nice, but you would only have to join the lineup to enter the parks once.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna099, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments and recommendations to future guests. We have addressed the noise concerns when preparing for breakfast for our guests convenience. Once again Thank You, your feedback is imperative for our improvement. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located off of Highway 99 and the 198. The room was very clean and the bed wonderfully comfortable. The price was reasonable considering this Is summer. Breakfast items were just ok. Front desk very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna099, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. My staff and I work very hard to ensure guest satisfaction. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My room was very big with a king bed, oversize chair w/ottoman and a work desk and chair. Everything in it was spotless and one of the best rooms that I've stayed at in years. The location was very quiet and next to a nice park and golf course. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Great complimentary breakfast with lots of choices. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna099, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you. We truly appreciate your feedback, it's always rewarding to hear comments such as yours. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We wanted to go to Sequoia Nat'l Park and Kings Canyon Nat'l Park on a tight budget. The hotel is a smaller hotel but it is quiet and clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The pool is small but one of the cleanest clearest pools I have seen at a hotel in a long time. It is not very far to Visalia if you take Hwy 63. Don't take Hwy 99 into Visalia. It was a great hotel and a great way to stay within budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna099, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are 2 minutes from Hwy 99 off Hwy 198 E and quaint downtown Visalia is only 5 minutes away. Thank you for your feed back we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

At first glance didn't think it was such a great hotel but as soon as we walked in we were greeted with such friendliness...the staff were very nice, the beds are sooooooo comfortable!!! Our room was very clean...definitely will come back and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna099, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you !! We are happy to hear you liked our new bedding and that you enjoyed your stay. My staff and I strive everyday to make our guests feel right at home. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this property four nights during a visit to Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. I'd have to say our experience was mostly positive, but still mixed.

Service at the front desk was cordial and efficient. The property has indoor corridors and an elevator, so it’s not as motel-like as some Comfort Inns. It’s also set off from the highway and located at the edge of town, so it’s pretty quiet.

Our room was clean and spacious enough, and contained a refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV, but the free wireless Internet signal was a bit spotty. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were almost comically small. The appliances and plumbing worked fine, but the towels were rather thin. The nightly rate was very reasonable.

The complimentary breakfast area offered a decent variety; available items included scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, and yogurt. The staff sometimes had a hard time keeping up with demand during the busy periods – for example, they ran out of coffee three of the four mornings we were there.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay. However, if you are thinking of using this or any other Visalia hotel as your base while visiting Sequoia National Park, you should understand that while it’s about a 45-minute drive to the park entrance, there’s an additional hour of driving from the entrance over narrow and winding mountain roads to reach the Giant Trees. If you want to cut between 30-40 minutes from your commute, you might consider staying in the small rustic town of Three Rivers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 9300 W. Airport Drive, Visalia, CA 93277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of Visalia, CA just 39 miles West of the fabulous Sequoia National Park at Hwy 198 and only seconds from Hwy 99. All of our completely renovated rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. We serve Complimentary Full Hot Breakfast daily and offer Free WiFi for all our guests. Our Fitness center includes a weight system and other state of the art equipment as well as a Sauna for your convenience. We welcome pets. Plaza Park Sports Complex is just across the street and it includes a fun dog park as well. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Visalia
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Visalia
Visalia Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.