We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9300 W. Airport Drive, Visalia, CA 93277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

This hotel is conveniently located in Visalia right off the main throughfare through Visalia. We were en-route to Sequoia National Park and decided to stay for one night before heading to the park the next day. It is not as close to the park as it would seem (about 1.5 hours away when you finally add all the time to get into the park). there is a bus from Visalia that runs into Sequoia that leaves from the nearby Holiday Inn conference hotel (that takes about 2 hours and costs $12 in 2008).

The rooms were very large and well appointed. There was refrigerator as well, free wi-fi access for computers. Small breakfast lounge below with the usual cold continental breakfast - they did have waffles you could make, cereals, some muffins/pastries, hard boiled egg and various juices. It was standard for hotel fare at the price we paid. Beds were comfortable and overall this is a great value. There are other hotels in Visalia - Fairfield Inn or Holiday Inn which may have been higher in quality but the price was probably 20-30% higher. For our needs, this was clean place for a quick overnight stay before heading out to Sequoia Nat'l Park.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    38
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
44
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

We (family of four) stayed one night on our way south. The room was spotless - really clean. The lobby and dining area was very roomy and peaceful, and also spotless. Breakfast was outstanding - wide variety for any taste, fresh, excellently prepared, and delicious. All personnel were very friendly and professional. Internet access in the room worked well. Even though the hotel is near the city airport, our room facing the airport was quiet. The only "complaint" we had about this place is that we did not get to stay longer and enjoy it. If we're ever in Visalia again, this Comfort Inn will be the first hotel we check with for reservations.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean, quiet, comfortable, friendly professional staff, and excellent food for breakfast
  • Disliked — We didn't get to stay longer.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

First time at a Comfort Suites. This place was delightful, clean, good location, easy access, very accomodating.

The receptionist was pleasant and helpful. We were traveling with our family van that has a roof top carrier which cannot be parked in a garage. They allowed us to park just out front of the hotel on the main street. There were no issues with security. The hotel is located in a nice safe area.

The room was more than expected. Separate bedroom, and comfortable sitting area. Two TV's. Nice large bathroom. Very clean!!!

Would stay there again.

Great location to stop after visiting Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights while we were touring Sequoia Park and King's Canyon. This place is definately an inexpensive alternative to staying in the Park, and the entrance to Sequoia is about 45 minutes away. The Comfort Inn is located on the outskirts of town by the airport but the downtown restaurants are just a short drive away. We paid a few dollars extra for one of the oversized suites and enjoyed the luxury of an extra room and 2 tvs. I especially appreciated the free internet access, and we also made use of the washer & dryer (for a modest charge). The room and furniture were in excellent condition. We did not have a minifridge and microwave during our stay because they had been removed for replacement. (A minor inconvenience but it shows, in my opinion, that the Inn is interested in maintaining good equipment.) I recomment the Comfort Inn if you plan on staying in Visalia.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights over Labor Day on a visit to Sequoia and Kings Canyon. The hotel was clean and comfortable and received really good rates with AAA discount. It was a very hot weekend and enjoyed coming back to the hotel in the afternoon and jumping in the pool (which was very clean). The complimentary breakfast in the morning is nothing special, but an added benefit if you want to pick something up quickly on your way out. The second day we were there, they did clean and make-up our room but they forgot to give us new towels. However, one quick call down to the front desk and new towels were brought up to us within 5 minutes. The hotel is at least an hours drive to the entrance of Sequoia.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bejiing
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

This is a must if you have business in or stopping in Visalia for a night. We stayed at the downtown Comfort Inn and Suites. The service was friendly, the rooms comfortable, the beds heavenly, and the breakfast well-stocked. This hotel doesn't have a pool but it does have a jacuzzi - sort of in a strange spot but private. The room is big with the separate sitting area - and two TVs. They have a washer/dryer and an okay workout room. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They were relaxed so it made our visit relaxing. The breakfast was hot and cold food. We paid $92 during the summer and this was one of the best hotels that we stayed at during our trip.

On Fridays, they have a farmers' market right outside the hotel. The Italian restaurant (forgot the name) that the hotel recommends is a "must do". The downtown area has been upgraded so that an evening stroll brings you to various restaurants and coffee shops. The other stores were closed, but it was great to see independently owned stores in lieu of the chain stores. There is a brewery and bakery around the block - we could see the signs from the hotel parking lot.

The hotel is less than an hour from the Sequoia National Park. We stayed at the Wuksachi lodge in the park but preferred this hotel - too bad it wasn't closer to the park. If you don't mind spending a day in the park then heading back to Visalia, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We stayed one night at the Comfort Inn and Suites in Visalia on our trip to Sequoia National Park and Yosemite. I was very pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and beautiful decor. The breakfast was great, with a large selection of foods. There was a computer available with the internet in the lobby. We would definately recommend staying at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Visalia.

  • Liked — Beautiful room, great breakfast.
  • Disliked — Spa could be warmer.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 9300 W. Airport Drive, Visalia, CA 93277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of Visalia, CA just 39 miles West of the fabulous Sequoia National Park at Hwy 198 and only seconds from Hwy 99. All of our completely renovated rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. We serve Complimentary Full Hot Breakfast daily and offer Free WiFi for all our guests. Our Fitness center includes a weight system and other state of the art equipment as well as a Sauna for your convenience. We welcome pets. Plaza Park Sports Complex is just across the street and it includes a fun dog park as well. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Visalia
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Visalia
Visalia Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.