We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9300 W. Airport Drive, Visalia, CA 93277   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

We (family of four) stayed one night on our way south. The room was spotless - really clean. The lobby and dining area was very roomy and peaceful, and also spotless. Breakfast was outstanding - wide variety for any taste, fresh, excellently prepared, and delicious. All personnel were very friendly and professional. Internet access in the room worked well. Even though the hotel is near the city airport, our room facing the airport was quiet. The only "complaint" we had about this place is that we did not get to stay longer and enjoy it. If we're ever in Visalia again, this Comfort Inn will be the first hotel we check with for reservations.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean, quiet, comfortable, friendly professional staff, and excellent food for breakfast
  • Disliked — We didn't get to stay longer.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
36
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

First time at a Comfort Suites. This place was delightful, clean, good location, easy access, very accomodating.

The receptionist was pleasant and helpful. We were traveling with our family van that has a roof top carrier which cannot be parked in a garage. They allowed us to park just out front of the hotel on the main street. There were no issues with security. The hotel is located in a nice safe area.

The room was more than expected. Separate bedroom, and comfortable sitting area. Two TV's. Nice large bathroom. Very clean!!!

Would stay there again.

Great location to stop after visiting Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights while we were touring Sequoia Park and King's Canyon. This place is definately an inexpensive alternative to staying in the Park, and the entrance to Sequoia is about 45 minutes away. The Comfort Inn is located on the outskirts of town by the airport but the downtown restaurants are just a short drive away. We paid a few dollars extra for one of the oversized suites and enjoyed the luxury of an extra room and 2 tvs. I especially appreciated the free internet access, and we also made use of the washer & dryer (for a modest charge). The room and furniture were in excellent condition. We did not have a minifridge and microwave during our stay because they had been removed for replacement. (A minor inconvenience but it shows, in my opinion, that the Inn is interested in maintaining good equipment.) I recomment the Comfort Inn if you plan on staying in Visalia.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights over Labor Day on a visit to Sequoia and Kings Canyon. The hotel was clean and comfortable and received really good rates with AAA discount. It was a very hot weekend and enjoyed coming back to the hotel in the afternoon and jumping in the pool (which was very clean). The complimentary breakfast in the morning is nothing special, but an added benefit if you want to pick something up quickly on your way out. The second day we were there, they did clean and make-up our room but they forgot to give us new towels. However, one quick call down to the front desk and new towels were brought up to us within 5 minutes. The hotel is at least an hours drive to the entrance of Sequoia.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bejiing
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

This is a must if you have business in or stopping in Visalia for a night. We stayed at the downtown Comfort Inn and Suites. The service was friendly, the rooms comfortable, the beds heavenly, and the breakfast well-stocked. This hotel doesn't have a pool but it does have a jacuzzi - sort of in a strange spot but private. The room is big with the separate sitting area - and two TVs. They have a washer/dryer and an okay workout room. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They were relaxed so it made our visit relaxing. The breakfast was hot and cold food. We paid $92 during the summer and this was one of the best hotels that we stayed at during our trip.

On Fridays, they have a farmers' market right outside the hotel. The Italian restaurant (forgot the name) that the hotel recommends is a "must do". The downtown area has been upgraded so that an evening stroll brings you to various restaurants and coffee shops. The other stores were closed, but it was great to see independently owned stores in lieu of the chain stores. There is a brewery and bakery around the block - we could see the signs from the hotel parking lot.

The hotel is less than an hour from the Sequoia National Park. We stayed at the Wuksachi lodge in the park but preferred this hotel - too bad it wasn't closer to the park. If you don't mind spending a day in the park then heading back to Visalia, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We stayed one night at the Comfort Inn and Suites in Visalia on our trip to Sequoia National Park and Yosemite. I was very pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and beautiful decor. The breakfast was great, with a large selection of foods. There was a computer available with the internet in the lobby. We would definately recommend staying at the Comfort Inn & Suites in Visalia.

  • Liked — Beautiful room, great breakfast.
  • Disliked — Spa could be warmer.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

This Comfort Inn & Suites recently took over another motel's facility. Consequently, the room decor and mattresses were new. (There was a pile of old mattresses out by the dumpster.)

After staying in so many over-priced hotels in California, this one was a bargain at about $72 before taxes, AAA discount.

The room was slightly larger than an average hotel room, but by no means a suite. The room and bathroom were clean, with a firm, comfortable mattress (non-pillowtop). Unfortunately, the bathroom smelled overwhelmingly of cleaning chemicals, but it certainly was clean. The bathroom sink was outside the bathroom. The room contained a tiny refrigerator and microwave. The Comfort Inn is in the process of ordering refrigerators for every room, so as of this writing, not every room has one. The staff was very friendly.

Our room, 115, just off the lobby had a very loud ice machine directly across the hall which served as "white noise", and a housekeeping closet on one side. We heard no noise from other rooms during our one-night stay, and very little noise in the halls.

As of this writing, there is no business center where you can use a computer, but the motel is in the process of putting one in. The Holiday Inn across the parking lot has a business center with 3 computers.

The exercise room contains a creaky old Joe Weider weight machine that is literally falling apart. There is also a treadmill and cheap stair climber. There are 2 coin-operated washing machines in the exercise room, sauna, and reasonably-sized outdoor pool.

The motel serves complimentary breakfast, which my partner (a veteran of many hotels) reports is slightly better than your average hotel.

Overall, this motel is quite a good deal for California. If you want to visit Sequoia National Park, which I highly recommend, there are many motels closer to the park (some national names), both in Visalia and just outside the park.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 9300 W. Airport Drive, Visalia, CA 93277
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of Visalia, CA just 39 miles West of the fabulous Sequoia National Park at Hwy 198 and only seconds from Hwy 99. All of our completely renovated rooms include microwaves, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and coffee makers. We serve Complimentary Full Hot Breakfast daily and offer Free WiFi for all our guests. Our Fitness center includes a weight system and other state of the art equipment as well as a Sauna for your convenience. We welcome pets. Plaza Park Sports Complex is just across the street and it includes a fun dog park as well. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Visalia
Comfort Inn Visalia
Visalia Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.