We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great salsa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Henry Salazar's Fresh Mex Grill

Henry Salazar's Fresh Mex Grill
123 W Main, Visalia, CA 93291
559-741-7060
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 237 restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Visalia, California, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great salsa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've been here many times and while the food is always good it's the salsa that keeps bringing me back. I could sit and eat their chips and salsa and just forget the food... bring me a cocktail instead.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    7
    8
    1
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What Has Happened To This Place???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been going to Henry Salazars Fresh Mex Grill every Saturday or Sunday for lunch for a couple of years now. Lately we have noticed, they no longer have a manager during the day hours, only for dinner hours. This is starting to show as it's taking 1/2 an hour to get waited on when there are only three or four tables with customers. We noticed two waiters and one bus boy on 01/20/13 and it was about 2:00 in the afternoon. All the tablets were dirty, they had to clean one for us. Heard other customers complaining to staff about what poor service they had received. Food was okay, tacos not as crispy as normal and not a lot of flavor. I normally love this place and order the same thing each time, so this was a disappointment to us. Will give another try, hopefully is better. I think they need to have a manager there in charge who can also help out when busy, the owners used to do this, but stopped. It is showing as the resturant is starting to go down hill.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Henry Salazar's menu offers an interesting selection of Mexican food including seafood. Their food is fresh and moderately priced. The waiters are friendly and service is very good. For a special occasion or just meeting friends out, this restaurant is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Favorite Mexican restuarant in Visalia by far!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Henry Salazar's is by far my favorite Mexican restuarant in Visalia! Love the atmosphere, background music is great. The salsa has amazing flavor. I have yet to try all their dishes but of what I've tried so far, excellent. I would recommend them 1st for Mexican food! Service is usually great, too!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OMG! We Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is one of our favorite spots to each in town. We go usually once a week. I always get the same items, two cripsy ground beef tacos (yummy) and grilled vegies instead of the rice and beans. Vegies include zucchini, carrots, brocholi and onions, grilled to perfection in olive oil, white wine and salt and pepper, simple but wonderful. We always skip the rice and beans, okay, but nothing special, go for the vegies you won't be disappointed. Chips and salsa are the bomb. No other place compares.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry Salazar's Fresh Mex Grill also viewed

 

Been to Henry Salazar's Fresh Mex Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry Salazar's Fresh Mex Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.