We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hometown Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 225

Cafe 225
225 W Main St, Visalia, CA 93291-6244
559-733-2967
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe 225 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 239 Restaurants in Visalia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Encina
Transit: Downtown Visalia has a trolley service making a scenic loop around the downtown district. It creates an opportunity to park and shop.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly Hometown Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were trying to decide where to eat on our single night in Visalia. Walking the street and looking over menus posted, two locals entering said. "We think this place is wonderful." After a little more strolling we took them up on it. The decor was pleasant, seating quick and service was amenable. Bread and olive oil on the table, wine ordered (it was 1/2 price bottle night, so we indulged) My wife had Spaghetti w/ meatballs. Ample portion and a very pleasant Sugo. I had Chicken Piccatta, which could have used a few more capers but was very lightly seasoned and flavorful with local veggies in season. Dessert was a lovely Creme Brule' that we split. After eating, the couple who approached us on the street stopped over and asked how the experience had been, and the introduced us to Visalia's Mayor who was also eating there that evening. We had a wonderful visit, good food, pleasant clean community.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

After all the great ratings, we were expecting something special, but were disappointed. The restaurant is pretty dark and the decor rather old fashioned, but this isn't important, the food is. I had spaghetti pomodoro with mushrooms, which was fine except that the mushrooms were overcooked and shrank almost beyond recognition. My husband had the spaghetti meatballs and he found the meat tasted processed and not fresh. We were only in town a short while but I certainly wouldn't go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Food - Be careful where you sit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We ate at this restaurant on July 25, 2013 after making reservations on OpenTable. It was rated high, so our expectations were aligned with the reviews. Our initial 10-15 minutes were disappointing to say the least (more later) but they turned around when the food came and this turned out to be a very pleasant experience.

We we went to dinner early and asked for a table near the window. No problem. Not only was the restaurant nearly empty at 5:00pm there was another reason people would not be sitting near the window - FLIES. After discussing the menu and specials which the server was not very familiar with (possibly just came on shift and it was a relatively new menu) we ordered a bottle of wine. As we enjoyed a very nice bottle of Chardonnay the flies decided to try to escape thru the window. There were dozens of them. After swatting and killing many, we asked to be reseated, which was no problem in the still relatively empty Cafe. The server confessed that the table we were at has this problem every day and they usually attack it with a vacuum cleaner. Apparently we got there too early and the Fly removal had not taken place.

The other table was fine and we had no more problems with flies. They seemed to be only near the table we originally occupied. The server, in the meantime, got up to speed on the menu and specials and was very helpful. I had some special dietary needs which needed to be accommodated and she did a great job working with people in the kitchen to work with those constraints.

I had a Rib-Eye steak which turned out to be the best I've ever had. My wife had a Pork Roast - which she never orders - and she was blown away with its taste and tenderness.

Bottom line, after you get seated in the right place the wine was fabulous as was the food and the service was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Cali
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy Little Downtown Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Cafe 225 is a Visalia must visit. They have a very eclectic menu with great specials using lots of local ingredients. My favorite is the Frenchie. Without a doubt, the best burger I have ever eaten.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best in Visalia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went for lunch, a rare day off without kids. Wife and I both had the chicken and salad. Service was excellent, as was the food. We will return as often as possible.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 225 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 225? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 225, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;