We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique menu with great wine list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 225

Cafe 225
225 W Main St, Visalia, CA 93291-6244
559-733-2967
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe 225 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 244 Restaurants in Visalia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Encina
Transit: Downtown Visalia has a trolley service making a scenic loop around the downtown district. It creates an opportunity to park and shop.
Three Rivers, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unique menu with great wine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The salads and pizzas are excellent, but I really like going here for the small plates and appetizers!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cold food, great atmosphere and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We had been to this restaurant about a year ago after seeing it on an episode of House Hunters and we bought a Groupon for it. We drove from Fresno to experience it. It was so awesome! We shared a burger and a salad....so good! The staff couldn't be any nicer. After seeing a Living Social coupon for it recently, we jumped on it and bought one. We went today for lunch. We ordered the Grilled Salmon and the Sirloin Steak. The salmon was just okay and didn't come with broccoli like waitress said. I ordered my steak medium and it was more on the well done side and tough as an old shoe. It was also cold as were the garlic mashed potatoes and veggies. The service was great again but very disappointed with the food. If I see another Groupon or Living Social for Cafe 225, we will think twice before buying.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have lived in the Visalia area on and off for the last 13 years. One thing that has always stayed consistantly good is the food at 225! Anything off the grill is awesome, but especially the Rack o Lamb, yummy yummy yummy! Definitely a 5 star delight!! Don't forget to start off with one of their signiture martini's!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cafe 225 best date night ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had an early reservation for a light dinner. The atmosphere was fun as we were seated across from the bar and could watch the game with little to no distraction. Our waiter was courteous and prompt. The menu was great. Try the Lamb chops out of this world.
Over all experience: worth the money and will definitly go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I hosted a work event for 10 people and were accommodated in the back room at no charge.

The service was excellent and we were allowed to bring out own wine for a modest corkage fee.

Food was very good and everyone in the party enjoyed themselves.

Good job Cafe 225

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 225 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 225? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 225, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.