We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 225

Cafe 225
225 W Main St, Visalia, CA 93291-6244
559-733-2967
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe 225 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 249 Restaurants in Visalia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Californian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Encina
Transit: Downtown Visalia has a trolley service making a scenic loop around the downtown district. It creates an opportunity to park and shop.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have lived in the Visalia area on and off for the last 13 years. One thing that has always stayed consistantly good is the food at 225! Anything off the grill is awesome, but especially the Rack o Lamb, yummy yummy yummy! Definitely a 5 star delight!! Don't forget to start off with one of their signiture martini's!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    12
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Visalia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cafe 225 best date night ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had an early reservation for a light dinner. The atmosphere was fun as we were seated across from the bar and could watch the game with little to no distraction. Our waiter was courteous and prompt. The menu was great. Try the Lamb chops out of this world.
Over all experience: worth the money and will definitly go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I hosted a work event for 10 people and were accommodated in the back room at no charge.

The service was excellent and we were allowed to bring out own wine for a modest corkage fee.

Food was very good and everyone in the party enjoyed themselves.

Good job Cafe 225

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cental old town Visalia location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I really enjoy this place for a nice lunch out with lady friends, and we try to go once a month or thereabouts.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Dishonest Waiters - beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visited this restaurant with 3 children and 2 adults. The food is outstanding and to a crave for.

Sadly, the wait staff is a disaster. My wife want a glass of the house white wine and the waiter kept pushing a much higher priced wine. Though we found a wine menu later on the table, he never brought it to our attention.

The service, on Wednesday night, 1/2 empty restaurant did not flow. It took an hour and 1/2 for dinner. I asked for the bill and it was presented and adjusted for the wine failure. Then it took 15 minutes for the waiter to pick up the bill.

The restaurant has great food and lousy service on September 26, 2012.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 225 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 225? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 225, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.