We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food & great beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brewbakers Brewing Company and Restaurant

Brewbakers Brewing Company and Restaurant
219 E Main St, Visalia, CA 93291-6355
559-627-2739
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 239 Restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh food & great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Food is good. Menu has many choices and I eat there twice in one week. Tried the steak and the BBQ Ranch burger, both were very good. The sequoia red and blonde were excellent. Only draw back was a lack of service. No interest to check back after you receive your food. Might have been an off night for them? Over all very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    47
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere, marginal beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I admit, I am a bit of a microbrew snob, however, I am always looking for hidden gems, and I always love to try local microbrews. Unless you are a huge hop fan, this is not for you. When my favorite beer out of a sampler is the raspberry ale, that's saying something. Out of a generously poured 6 beer sampler (and 3 homemade sodas that I could have done without) 4 of the 6 beers tasted eerily the same. The blonde was an average, adequate blonde. The honey wheat was so hoppy (for a honey wheat) that I thought they had misplaced it with the Marzen, and had to laugh a bit later when a member of the wait staff also was confused when looking at some pours later as to which was which. Sequoia red, average. Smokey the beer - coulda been great, if not so hoppy. Raspberry ale - light, refreshing, very good. Will try again - but overall, disappointing for variety in a microbrew.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta Lake, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food just ok but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had rib-eye $23. It was tough and dry so I couldn't eat it. It came with a twice baked potato that was ok a plain bread roll and broccoli. The flat iron steaks that were ordered were tough also. The fish and chips were ok. Service not impressive. Atmosphere is cool. You need to be able climb stairs though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I like their sandwich's there and my granddaughter likes the specialty soda's they make on site. Here is a tip for you, don't sit in the window seats, the vat they brew beer in is in service and unless you're looking for a steam bath with your meal, opt for the mezzanine or patio!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You'd think they found a way to make quality beer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I disliked everything about this place! The beer is expensive, and although their name says they are a brewery, I have yet to meet someone who likes their beer.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewbakers Brewing Company and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brewbakers Brewing Company and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewbakers Brewing Company and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.