We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintage Press

Vintage Press
216 North Willis Street, Visalia, CA 93291-6006
559 733 3033
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 232 Restaurants in Visalia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Polynesian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant while traveling through Visalia. We didn't know anything about it. Very nice decor, nice people and delicious food. We were pleasantly surprised. One of us had the salmon the other had the sea bass; both were very good. Crab cakes were delicious. I really can't say anything negative about our experience at The Vintage Press.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    38
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pricey but higher end”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Always a good spot to gather with friends. Great wine and beer selection. The food is good but somewhat pricey but expected from patrons. Slow service but friendly in the dining room not so muck in the bar area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classy and great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I ate there for the first time during this past Thanksgiving. It was absolutely awesome! Great service, exceptional wine list and great coffee to top it off. It is definitely a high end place but well worth the price. I suggest a reservation for sure...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you have not been to this restaurant you don't know what you are missing. went for lunch yesterday and had there baby pumpkins with salad. was excellent - good service and easy to have good conversations.. You must try if you have not yet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Rarely has a restaurant been such an pleasant surprise as the Vintage Press was for us.

We chose it based on reviews in Tripadvisor, but were not expecting such an amazing combination of outstanding service, flawless cuisine, impeccable wine selection, and impressive decor.

The place transports you in a very well maintained 1930's decor, which feels authentic, despite it dating from the 1970s. Everything from furniture to decorations is very tastefully selected and it flows very well together.

The food was very high quality, some of the best steaks I've had in California.

However, what was truly impressive was the extensive wine list, which was comparable to Michelin restaurants in larger cities. Well done!

All in all, somewhat pricey (~$70 per person) but I would return in a heartbeat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Press also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Press? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintage Press, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.