We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If we want take out Chinese...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lum LUMS

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lum LUMS
417 E Ctr Ave, Visalia, CA 93291-6304
(559) 733-5292
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 237 restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Visalia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“If we want take out Chinese...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We always go to LumLums. In addition to the fried rice, chow mein, pot stickers, shrimp, chicken entre's we also get a double order of fried shrimp. That's because one order never makes it all the way home. My wife and I don't allow one or the other to go there alone to pick up dinner, no one is getting more than their share of those fried shrimp!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    5
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hanford
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Place to go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you like Chineese food, done right, here is the place. Lum-Lum's has been there for a long long time. Food is consistantly good, atmosphere is expectedly oriental in decor and sounds. Wait staff is adeduate, shop is clean and well maintained. Pricing is reasonable. Good bar.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
“Best quality and authenticity in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Fresh vegetables, excellent Shanghai Chow mein and other noodle dishes, large portions, great bar. Lum Lums and the Hong Kong are con-joined restaurants and patrons can order from either menu at either place which are really adjoining rooms.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
“Nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011 via mobile

Nothing was good at all. Egg Foo is sooooo much better in the state of Missouri. Lost my business.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley California
1 review
“BEST CHINESE FOOD IN TOWN !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

After coming here for 25+ years the Lum Lum's special Dinner is still the best! You can order it on the Hong Kong side if you want ....It's served family style and 2 dinners is more than enough food!

The WON TON soup has great flavor and I love the dumplings.If you like chestnuts and mushrooms you'll love the cashew chicken that it comes with!

The man-ly dish is the beef and snow peas but we always ask to substitute the beef and broccoli and it's the best -- beef is oh so tender and great flavor..

Lots of times we eat on the Hong Kong side just because we like the booths-- it's not as nice of decor on that side --- For a special night out the LUM LUM's market room is fantastic with nice decor --- even the Lum Lum lounge side is nice but more casual with the bar right there..

If you drink and like sweet try a Dragon Lady ! Also the Long Island Tea is good but a lot of alcohol! And the Voo Doo is unforgetable!

It's family owned and the husband often is in the back cooking--- and we often have his wife waiting on us rather than the help ---she always remembers what we like and has it set out for us even before we ask...

Plus they still have the dinners #1's #2's etc. if you want. There is always a special posted on the daily specials board. .

I'd give the place a world class rating for the Market area with the fine linen and decor but overall it's not super fancy in the Hong Kong area which is more family oriented and the bar area that is more singles..It's a great place for both special occasions and everyday dining

Still with all the travel and places we've tried the best is still here at home in Visalia.

Great food and healthy portions at a reasonable price .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lum LUMS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lum LUMS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.