We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good stakes and really expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Double LL Steakhouse

Double LL Steakhouse
401 E. Center Ave., Visalia, CA 93291-6304
(559) 627-1126
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 243 Restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Really good stakes and really expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a dinner here with the family based on tripadvisor inputs. The quality of the steaks really exceptional. I don't think I have ever eaten a steak t was comparable. But... the ambiance and total package is not the best. Being in a nice oldbuilding they could do so much more making this a more enjoyable experience. So considering everything you have to pay a very high price for the quality of the food. My daughter had a plate with chicken and that was very dry so if you go here tick with the steak.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    4
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you are ever in Visalia, CA and love to eat, you must go to the LL Steakhouse!
They have delicious steaks, but one of my favorite things to order is the Chicken Cordon Blue on their "Petite" menu. There is nothing "petite" about the servings on this menu! If you look on the back of the menu, you will find the petite menu - everything is priced lower than the regular menu, but you get so much food. For example: the Chicken Cordon Blue comes with a huge stuffed (procuitto & cheese) and fried chicken breast about the circumference of a cantaloupe! Huge side of the best mashed potatoes around (or baked potato, french fries, etc.) and perfectly steamed broccoli. As well as baked bread for the table. All this for $15! It is always 2 meals for me.

My boyfriend loves the steaks and the Halibut too! All the staff members are wonderful, but our favorite is Ricky!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Looking for Great Steaks and we found them!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

While visiting Sequoia National Park we stayed in Visalia and for dinner we stopped at Double LL Steakhouse. My wife and I found this great cowboy themed restaurant and ordered New York strip and ribeye steaks, WOW! Our steaks were perfect as were the side dishes. We loved that all food items were served hot from the kitchen and served by very attentive waiters. Definitely would come back next time in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, Usa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I attend a conference in April every year in Visalia. The conference includes a banquet which I usually skip in favor of a terrific steak dinner at the Double LL with a dozen or so friends. It's a genuine no-kidding steakhouse kind of place, with rustic Western-style decor and a huge "eat it all, we buy dessert" monster of 60-some ounces.

Decent wine list, good service. Not cheap, but the steaks are worth it. Looking forward to next year.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“BBQ steak cooked over oak coals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

BBQ steak cook over oak coals. Old red brick building... Western theme... Not cheep ..look for coupons in local newspaper for special pricing and look in back of menu for smaller portions and prices. You can really taste the coal favor in the steaks.. Love it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double LL Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Double LL Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double LL Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.