We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historical park and museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mooney Grove Park

Mooney Grove Park
27000 S Mooney Blvd, Visalia, CA 93277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Visalia
Attraction Details
Alabama
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful historical park and museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a wonderful historical park for Tulare County and the surrounding area. We came to look at the newly displayed caboose as our grandfather had been the brakeman on it for the Visalia Electric Railroad (1920's through the 1960's) and we had an opportunity to ride on it as children in the early 1960's. The museum contains many local Indian artifacts and memorabilia important to the area.
The park has beautiful trees, picnic areas, and a lake with little paddle boats for rent.
Also on display in the park is a replica of the original very famous End of the Trail statue by James Earle Fraser, which was on display at the 1919 San Francisco Exposition. The statue paid homage to the demise of the Native American culture.
We also enjoyed the ducks and geese around the lake as well as a giant slab of Sequoia Gigantea redwood.
Visit this beautiful park and enjoy its' many offerings!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Place for fun and frolic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My granddaughters love a chance to go to Mooney Grove...whether it is for a leisurely walk, feeding the geese, or exploring the playgrounds and monuments. Mooney Grove is a wonderful outdoor sanctuary.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“drove by. looks so nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

we only just drove by, but i wanted to say that this place looks very well maintained and nice. so many trees, being from texas this place is heaven for a tree hugger

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fun park, lots for a child to learn about. The peacocks are a beautiful sight and the little row boats are fun to be in. I had a lot of fun here, and would love to take my children and grandchildren when I come back down to California.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Picnic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a picnic, and tried very hard not to step in goose poo. It was every place. Other than that it is a lovely location with beautiful trees.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mooney Grove Park also viewed

 

Been to Mooney Grove Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mooney Grove Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.