We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and better food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Chinese Restaurant

Shanghai Chinese Restaurant
5131 W Walnut Ave, Visalia, CA 93277-3474
559-738-1688
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 240 Restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Visalia, California
1 review
“Great service and better food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This some of the best Chinese food in the valley. They have excellent service. My wife wanted Crab Rangoon which wasn't on the menu at the time. They went next door to the supermarket and bought cream cheese so they could make it for her. Where else will find service like that? The food is very fresh and doesn't have that heavy greasy taste like many Chinese restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place had great reviews so I decided to give it a try. It is hidden in the back of a shopping center. Fairly small place with maybe 15 tables, very clean. The food is excellent, a great value with huge portions. An entree, cup of soup, soda and appetizer was $23 and it was easily enough for two meals. Only issue was the service which was not bad it just was not great. I'll be back the next time I'm in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Finally found THE BEST Chineese Restaurant in Visalia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We moved to Visalia a few years ago and we've been trying different Chinese restaurants. A friend recommended Shanghai to us; it's the Best Chinese food in town. My husband and I are hooked on the Honey Walnut Shrimp and the #2 Plate. We go at least once a week. You got to try it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Ca
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Drive 70 miles to have the best Chinese food, enough said!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

You will be greeted by Judy, friendly and now your friend. The menu and the chalkboard specials are special. Pork Chow Mein, salt and pepper shrimp or calamarie the best anywhere. This is a neighboorhood smallish resaurant but it is well worth the effort finding. Problem now is it is getting a reputation of a great meal at a valued price. The Shanghai Chinese Restaurant can be recommended for a fine dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Chinese in Visalia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hands down the best Chinese food Visalia has to offer. Service is always good, food quality very consistent. We try to eat there every week. Judy, co-owner will remember you and your favorites after only a few visits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.