We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one on Mooney is so much better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Applebee's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Applebee's
5325 Avenida De Los Robles, Visalia, CA 93291-5131
559-636-1605
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 244 Restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Exeter, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The one on Mooney is so much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have frequented the Applebee's on Mooney in Visalia many times and were very pleased. So on our way into Visalia stopped at this one on Avenida De Los Robles, and were very disappointed. The drinks were tasteless, including the draft beer. Service was slow, and food was not nearly as good as the Mooney restaurant. We ordered the same drinks and meals at both locations. We ate in the bar at about 5pm and it was quite busy and had numerous rude children. Some were loud, others were climbing all over the tall chairs next to our table, (being loud, too) as the adults stood and talked not telling them to stop, while they waited to be seated which took a long time. Very irritating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, Frankrijk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

service good a short time for waiting and the food was great and prices reasonable special when you takes the double dinerplates

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Reheated food, but good atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I asked the waiter about the food i ordered and basically they have food pre-made and they just throw it in the fryer to warm it, and the pasta they make in the morning and they just keep it warm all day. The atmosphere is nice though. I would recommend waiting for happy hour so you can get a better deal if you need a quick fix.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“watered drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Don't order a martini. The gin is watered. I ordered a Tanqueray martini, up & dry. My wife doesn't like gin & cannot stand the taste of it. She said that it was very weak. My opinion concurs. Extremely watered down. Another was offered. I accepted. It was exactly the same. So I assumed the bartender had no knowledge of this. The food is good, & the service is good a well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Applebee's, dependably the same everywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Good food, Same decor, you know what you are getting. Sometimes that is a great relief when traveling.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applebee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.