We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Foods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack and Charlie's

Jack and Charlie's
204 E Oak Ave, Visalia, CA 93291
559-738-5752
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 245 Restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: Californian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Visalia, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfort Foods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Jack and Charlies transcends you back to a long ago era of Hollywood glamor, good times, and comfort foods. Order specialty flavored infused vodka's from the bar or comfort foods such as beef stroganoff or a sauteed chicken liver dinner from the restaurant. The waiters and bar-tenders are all friendly and helpful. The prices are descent. Meet up with friends for a great night out on the town at Jack and .Charlie's

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was a good place, good food, service, etc. They want mne to say more, actually, we each brought our own wine and I don't remember much about the food, but it was a fun night. I am pretty sure the food was good.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant to have a long and leisurely gourmet coursed meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is my favorite place in Visalia to eat with my husband or close friends. Let me warn you up front that this is not a quick meal. If you have eaten in Europe it is closer to this style of slowly enjoying your dinner and company. This is also going to be a pricier meal, especially if you order cocktails or wine. If all you want is food, the price is fairly reasonable for the quality and variety of food you will get. My favorite way to order is to get the 3-course meal, which I believe is $40 (this also includes a few little tasty items from the chef). You have a choice of getting 3 of the following: appetizer, cheese, salad/soup, entree, and desert. There menu has a few constants, but most items change to fresh and seasonally inspired choices. I have loved all the fish that I have ordered and surprisingly my favorite items have been curry bok choy and a balsamic Brussels sprout appetizer. I know, doesn't sound amazing, but it is!!!

They make some interesting cocktails with their infused vodkas. I really enjoy the strawberry-basil martini, but these little guys will hike up your bill at $8.

I would definitely recommend for an all adult meal and for people who enjoy creative internationally-inspired food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good unusual food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I like to try new dishes and this restaurant did that and the new ones we tried were great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers
1 review
“Excellent service...Bad food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Love Vintage Press and The Depot...decided to try Jack and Charlies. Will not go back. The service was very good, attentive. We ordered appitizers...The seared Pig Heart (way to raw) and the Fried Calamari... the first bite I took was battered Lemon! Yuck! Then we each ordered at salad... my husband was safe with the mixed green with vinegrette. I chose the Little Gems with "Homemade" Green Goddess. The only thing in this Green Goddess was Fennel! I am not a fan so,.... Then main coarse my hubby chose the Seared Duck...cooked nice but so covered in Peppercorn it looked like the lid had fallen off in the kitchen. This was comming from the man that always wants extra pepper and it was too much. I ordered the Beef Stroganof with House made noodles. The flavor of the sauce was great and the noodles too. But, again....Fennel on top and inside the dish! not good...destroyed the flavor.

So, after Apps, Salad, main course and a bottle of wine...$170.00 later...I would not go back or recommend it to anyone!!! Too bad :((

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack and Charlie's also viewed

 

Been to Jack and Charlie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack and Charlie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.