We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly, Great Service, Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 E Acequoia Ave, Visalia, CA 93291   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family Friendly, Great Service, Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

My family just stayed at this hotel prior to making the drive into Sequoia Natl Park. What a nice play to stay, the room was clean, ours had two queens and one pull out sofa queen bed. The bathroom was very large and clean. The hotel is dead downtown. You can walk (2 minutes) to the movie theater and you are very close to all types of eating places. What I found was odd but great, was the afternoon welcome drinks. Yes I mean drinks, beer and wine is free to hotel guest as well as your typical hot wings, cheese and various veggies with dip. This was all free...I was shocked but even though I do not drink it was nice to see the hotel does this for its guest. In the morning you get a free meal down in the lobby, which was not bad at all. Fruits, eggs, potatos, waffels, for the price , Free. it was great, I overheard other guest who were very happy to have such a good morning meal before driving into the park. I had booked two rooms, large family camping trip and would tell everyone to stay at the hotel. The price is good and the employees were very helpful with all the questions we had. The only downer for my family (kids) was there was no pool, there is a hot tub but with it being 105 outside the kids wanted a cold pool.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy the free meals and drinks!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
31
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

My family and I stayed 4 nights in Visalia while visiting Sequoia and Kings Canyon National park. The hotel is located in the middle of downtown Visalia, which makes it convienient to dining and shopping. Front desk check in was courteous and gave us good suggestions for dining options within walking distance. Try the Canton restaruant a few blocks away...great chinese food!!
The hotel breakfast had a great selection: scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and potatoes. You could also make your own waffles. There was also a selection of cereals, bagels, muffins and fresh fruit. The room set up was interesting,as you enter the room, there is a sitting area with a pullout queen sofa bed, the bathrooms in the middle, with a seperate vanity/sink area out side of the bathroom and a king size bed near the window. The only complaint was the AC was very loud, we needed earplugs to block out the sound. Also on the last night, there was a loud street concert right outside the hotel, ( we were on the 4th floor!) I called down to the front desk and they were trying to contact the local police to stop the music, it was past 11 pm. The music finally stopped around 12:30 pm.

To our surprise, Visalia has everything a "big"city would have. There is a Walmart down the street, a Target on the other side of town, and a Dodge dealership. This was helpful, when our car broke down on the 2nd day we were there. Unfortunately, we needed to wait until the last day to fix the car, the dealership was not open on the weekend. Lucky, the hotel was very understanding of our situation and allowed us to do a late check out (2:00 pm) on our last day so we could get our car fixed, and not have to worry about my 2 1/2 year old running around in the lobby.

Overall, a great visit and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

Based on reviews here at tripadvisor, we booked a three night stay at this hotel for the Visalia (sequoias) stop on our vacation . We were very disappointed.

When we booked (3 months before we arrived!) we asked for rooms in the quietest spot in the place as we don't cope well with noise. Somehow this message wasn't understood, as we were allocated rooms next to the elevator and ice machine/laundry! When we asked to be relocated, the front desk staff were helpful, but moving us in a sold out hotel wasn't easy and one of we three had to stay put.

This is truly one of the noisiest hotels we have ever stayed in! Not the guests, we might add, whose voices we didn't hear at all. However, the floor of the bathroom actually shook when the toilet was flushed and neighbours in every direction knew you had 'pulled the chain'! The air conditioning is the noisiest ever experienced - we had no choice but to turn it off at night even though the temperature was in the 80s. If you stay on the courtyard side, there is the noise from the bar/restaurant behind the suites. The road side is OK until 5am when we were woken by machinery that sounded like a lawnmower (?) and what we think was the garbage truck.

The rooms are a great size. The bathroom was clean, but the bed linens seemed tired and the pillows weren't of the freshest order and smelt quite badly (we swapped them for the ones inthe wardrobe which weren't quite so bad).

The breakfast was good with a wide choice and the internet access worked well. This didn't compensate for our disappointment, however. Overall, if, as we do, you like a quiet room, we would advise you to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

My husband and I just returned from staying at the Comfort Suites in Visalia. We picked it because of the comments left on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The room was super clean, staff were really helpful and it came with a full breakfast. The location is also a plus since it is conveniently located near the downtown section with many cute shops and is a nice walking area. We ate at the Brewbaker Brewery right behind the hotel and it was great. We will stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2005

Quite a bit of redevelopment work has been done near this hotel: there's a convention center and an even larger new hotel (Radisson) to the south and a revitalized Main Street to the north (shops, restaurants, fancy streetlights). It looks like an attempt to mimic Pasadena but the streets are pretty quiet after six. Parking is not a problem since the hotel has reserved spots in the garage next door; be sure to get a dashboard pass from the front desk. The front desk staff were knowledgeable, friendly, helpful. I had a bad door key but the manager fixed it in under a minute.

This is an all-suites hotel with a mini-living room and a second TV. They put the work desk right next to the door, which is not a good idea given any hallway noise (thankfully, there was very little noise). TV channel selection is a bit limited, however, reception quality was unusually good for a hotel (who typically use lots of splitters and amplifiers). The A/C was excellent and you can open the windows to get relief from the customary hot temperatures of newer hotel rooms. The room was quiet during sleeping hours and downtown Visalia has a pretty low-key rush hour.

The hotel uses wired DSL broadband in their rooms. I had no problems connecting and it worked fine with my router (always bring one along for your protection; you never know if the hotel's internet provider is running a firewall or not...some do....some don't). If you forget to bring a Cat 5 cable, they can loan you one. There's no business center but there is a UPS Store (semi-Kinko's) next door. For real copying needs, there's a full FedEX Kinko's, in the big new shopping complex on Mooney Blvd (10 minutes south).

The hotel uses styrofoam cups, plates, and utensils so don't expect fine silverware. The free "expanded continental" breakfast is a bit above average since they have eggs and sausage, but you might find the local I.H.O.P. on Mooney Blvd. more satisfying.

Overall, a good choice for business travel. Not a Hilton or Hyatt but it is clean, comfortable, convenient, and safe.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2005

Nice hotel. I'd give it 4 1/2 stars. All non smoking rooms were together! Elevator worked well, very quiet, immaculate! Received a suite, don't know if all are suites or they upgraded us). Comfortable beds, good pillows. Nice kitchen area (micro, frig and sink). 2 TV's. Only drawback was no door between bed and suite area. Staff was very friendly and helpful finding a restaurant nearby (Brubakers). Excellent breakfast: oatmeal, breakfast burito, scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, bagels, muffins, danish, wafflemaker, fruit, yogurt, many teas, 4 types of juice. Only complaint: it was suana like in the lobby, hallways and breakfast room (76 degrees)

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2004

Visalia Comfort Suites was a nice hotel. The staff was friendly and upgraded our rooms, which is a bonus when you travel for business. The hotel is in downtown district, which means you can walk to many of the restaurants and antique shops. It is also next to the conference center. I would recommend this hotel, and I am staying there again next month!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 210 E Acequoia Ave, Visalia, CA 93291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel located in downtown across from the convention center. Close to dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Visalia
Comfort Suites Visalia
Visalia Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.