We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, close to downtown” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 E Acequoia Ave, Visalia, CA 93291   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Lodi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Noisy, close to downtown”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice location but very noisy, including street sweeper at 3:30 am, lots of sirens and gardeners with leaf blowers at 6:45am. Room had weird layout, was worn with torn curtains and broken lamp shades. Plan on extra time if you use the elevator it is on its last leg!

Breakfast was disappointing had to ask for items to be restocked (including juice and coffee), fresh fruit was gone while the buffet had 45 minutes left to be open. Noticed a lot of staff helping themselves to breakfast items too. Had to reheat "hot" items in microwave.

The check in staff member was very nice. We enjoyed walking downtown.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
33
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianna,USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a good location to stay in. Visalia, CA on 210 E. Acequoia Ave. Not every place near Fresno would be a safe place for your vehicle to set in the parking lot. Or where you would feel safe to stay over night in the hotel. Read reviews!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi D, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you, for taking the time to post a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Overall our stay here was nice. For the price we paid we were very happy with the room layout. Some of the decor could use some upgrades, but that isn't an issue to us. The complementary breakfast was very good. Parking was easy next door. There were many shops and restaurants next to the hotel in downtown Visalia.

The main negative I have is that as of 10/9/13 their webpage says.... "Guest will also enjoy the fitness center and outdoor hot tub". Also, there is a picture of the hot tub on website. We headed out to find said hot tub in full swim gear & we found it, the only problem being that it is filled in with concrete. The outline of the hot tub looked nice, but i would have preferred a little less concrete.

Honestly this is a pretty good place to stay for the price, but it's kind of a bummer when something is on the webpage and its nonexistent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi D, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Sorry for the confusion, the spa was removed do to new ADA requirements, We are trying to get all pages upgraded. I am glad you enjoyed everything else with us, and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodegraven
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spacious rooms with suite to sit and relax and big bathroom. Nice staff, parking covered and next door in the middle of Visalia just behind the main street. Nice restaurants and shops close by. Did not sleep well because of a lot of street noises till 3am. Cars accelerating loudly, people shouting, very disturbing. Maybe it was because it was a Friday evening. Breakfast was complimentary and offered lots of warm and cold choices enough to make it to lunch and beyond.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

On site parking good. Room very spacious with two TVs, sofas and desk, fridge and microwave. Unfortunately despite being on 3rd floor it was noisy but it was saturday night. Breakfast was excellent complimentary scrambled eggs etc and good coffee. All in all excellent value if a bit corporate. Lovely, helpful desk staff in particular


Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've stayed at this Comfort Suites twice, the first time many years ago when it was new. It's location is perfect, we hardly used the car as we could walk to shops, and restaurants. We like the "suites" as they are roomier than most hotel rooms, and have all the amenities. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good, with waffles, eggs, bacon as well as the usual bagels, sweet rolls, yougert, fruit, etc. The hotel shares a city parking garage, but having indoor parking in the heat of summer, was a real plus. The hotel is starting to show it's age, the drapes were looking worn with the hot sun beating in on them, only one elevator, so sometimes a wait to get back to the room. Reasonably priced, though, so can't really complain. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We arrived early, and had no problem checking in for Friday/Saturday nights. Request a room not fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great staff and location, comfortable room. Breakfast was typical of what you'de expect from a Comfort Inn, this location offered a managers evening reception w/drinks. The drinks were average beer or wine offerings but it was kind of weird since you were given a "coupon" good for two drinks p/person but the woman running the evening shift couldn't recall who had what and when we asked for our second drink she told us we had them already. UM....no we didn't. Not a big deal but just felt weird having a disagreement about having another beer after a long day of driving. The other hiccup for me with this strange smell in the room, not musty but almost like there had been a fire or something. Not enough to complain about since we were only staying one night. Overall a very comfortable stay, good location with very good staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi D, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I am sorry about the problem you had during the Managers Reception, I do appreciate you writing to let us know, we always appreciate hearing from our guest.
I hope you will give us another chance, to make your stay with us everything it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 210 E Acequoia Ave, Visalia, CA 93291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel located in downtown across from the convention center. Close to dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Visalia
Comfort Suites Visalia
Visalia Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.