We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rice Bowl Take Out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akamaru Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Akamaru Japanese Restaurant
120 West Main St, Visalia, CA 93291
(559) 739-8227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 240 Restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: We serve the tastiest Japanese dishes, rolls and sushi. All made from the freshest ingredients available. Come visit us and enjoy our Weekly Specials.
Restaurant details
Description: We serve the tastiest Japanese dishes, rolls and sushi. All made from the freshest ingredients available. Come visit us and enjoy our Weekly Specials.
Visalia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Rice Bowl Take Out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was ok, but next time I will drive across town. I like the set up if the place, but service was far from receptive (maybe being solo and getting take out).

Restaurant had very strong smell of fish, but I guess that's expected since they serve sushi. This will probably be a one-timer for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent service and the food is great! They are open late and it's just a short walk from the Marriott. Get the bento box!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best traditional sushi in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I try to come here as often as I can. There is no better sushi chef than Sano. The service is prompt, the fish tastes great and he is one of the only traditional japanese sushi chefs left. If you like your sushi, you can not miss this place! He does specials midweek. Do try!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Third Resturant In One Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After church one Saturday around 5:30 pm, tried going to Henry Salazar's, moderately busy, but not bad, couldn't even get a waiter or watress to even acknoweledge our being there. Waited for about 8 minutes, made a comment that this was the second evening this has happened (we normally go for lunch every weekend) and walked out. Went next door to Fugazzis, same thing. Us and two other couples walked out. We went across the stress to Akamaru's, was greated immediately upon walking in, brought our drinks, took our order, and treated you like you were family. Kudos Akamaru, wonderful dinner. So much food for what we paid! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food; great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had vegetable tempura; very tasty. Other members of our party enjoyed their selections. Great value; no much atmosphere. Good location.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akamaru Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Akamaru Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akamaru Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.