We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food; great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akamaru Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Akamaru Japanese Restaurant
120 West Main St, Visalia, CA 93291
(559) 739-8227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: We serve the tastiest Japanese dishes, rolls and sushi. All made from the freshest ingredients available. Come visit us and enjoy our Weekly Specials.
Restaurant details
Description: We serve the tastiest Japanese dishes, rolls and sushi. All made from the freshest ingredients available. Come visit us and enjoy our Weekly Specials.
Ukiah, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food; great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had vegetable tempura; very tasty. Other members of our party enjoyed their selections. Great value; no much atmosphere. Good location.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, Ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“OK if you must have sushi and rice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

As a Sushi lover who eats at Japanese restaurants 2 times a week, the restaurant is not on top of my list. Service is good and decor is nice. Fish quality is average. DINNER PORTION IS HUGE.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best sushi in Visalia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I liked everything about this place.
Sushi was above expectation for midland.
Hawaiian roll was excellent choice for me.
Don’t ask for Oh-my-God roll unless you believe that jalapeños are sweet…

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Started Out Good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

But they changed some of their items and it's not been the same. Also smells to fishy, not good for sushi!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never got food!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Waited an hour and a half and had to walk out after the 4th waitress came over and said it would be 5 more minutes. Didn't offer us drinks or anything! Never going back, food was decent other times.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akamaru Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akamaru Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.