We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Joe's

Tahoe Joe's
4015 W. Caldwell Ave., Visalia, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 249 Restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Visalia, California, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The food is good but not especially creative or flavorful. They know how to fry and grill stuff. The service is very good but surprisingly slow. Three of us arrived early for lunch, so the place was not busy yet. We waited longer than I have a busier places. I might return at someone else's insistence, but I would prefer to try a new place or go to tried and true favorite.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
1 review
“I <3 this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I didn't even know how to order a juicy steak before I started going to Tahoe Joe's! Everyone is so friendly, they make it a place u want to be! Great food and enlightened hospitality have made this chick a friend of Joe! Lunch prices are unbeatable and happy hour last almost all day with great food and drink specials. The service is so good I always leave a 20% tip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Always good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

6 of us just met at Tahoe Joes for dinner. We always have a good meal here. Very consistent! We have tried several steak houses in this area over the years but...you would be hard pressed to find a better rib eye! Prices are very fair, service is good and the restaurant is very clean. All in all a very good choice for dinner. We will be back...believe it!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great steak salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Great steak salad. I find the steaks inconsistent. Hamburger average. Great vibe. Nice wait staff. In the Winco shopping center.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We enjoy going to Tahoe Joe's about once a year, if we can afford it. We share a meal so we can get out of there for just under $40.00 that's including strawberry lemonade for the wife and ice tea for me. We pass on desert unless we have a coupon for a free Cheesecake which cost $8.00 a slice last time we were there. But we like the food there and most of the time we get a good server.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Tahoe Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.