We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time and we were not disappointed on this night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tahoe Joe's

Tahoe Joe's
4015 W. Caldwell Ave., Visalia, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 237 restaurants in Visalia
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Northern California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“First time and we were not disappointed on this night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Overnighting in Visalia - we were in the mood for a good steak. I did some on-line research but there wasn't a clear winner. Found this steakhouse not too far from our hotel and decided to give it a try. The decor was interesting and eye-catching. The noise level was fine for us - busy but not overly loud. You can carry on a conversation easily with those at your table. Our wait staff was busy but attentive. He took our drink order and I noticed that he made our drinks as well (not sure if they were short-staffed? or he does dual duty?); either way, the drinks were fine. He offered a "tour" of the menu but we were already to order. I ordered the steak and shrimp (grilled). HB wanted a steak but since he likes his med well - we asked if he should order the smaller steak. Waiter said - no - go for the larger sirloin as the chef does a good job (and won't butterfly it either). All I can say is that the meal was excellent! My steak was flavorful. HB's steak was also done perfectly and very tasty. Came with green beans - fresh and done right (not soggy). We were stuffed before the end of our meal, so you will get plenty. Then we were offered free dessert as we were first timers! Wow! We chose the apple pie slice and the waiter brought it to go as we were very full. A great experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    19
    16
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Visalia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I really tried to give it a shot...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went to Tahoe Joe's on 3 occassions. Each time I had a different cut of beef, the first time was either a T-Bone or Porterhouse and the last two were Filet Mignon. I have eaten a lot of these steaks over the years but there has always been something really off with the taste of their beef. I like the atmosphere there but the last time I was there I dared the waitress to take a bite of the Filet Mignon. I could not eat it. All I could think of was a line from the movie O'Brother, Where Art Thou? "I slaughtered this horse last Tuesday. I believe she's startin' to turn".

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My son and I had dinner at Tahoe Joe's, the swordfish was cooked just perfect and the service was very good. I have lunch there and enjoy their sandwiches also. Everyone is friendly and make you feel at home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanhoe, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife was wanting a steak for dinner so we went to Tahoe Joes. Service was wonderful, and so was the food. My wife had a cabin combo with the 6 oz Joes Steak with the sierra mountain ribs with the baked potato. the steak was cooked well as she wanted with the smaller part the same as the bigger part, no pink not burnt. The ribs literally fell off the bones and melted in the mouth ( I tried a piece). the neat thing about the baked potato is the size and the carousel they bring out with sour cream,butter,chives,and bacon bits that you tell them how much you want on the potato. I had the wood grilled chicken and it was good with the BBQ sauce. If in the Visalia area good place to eat reasonably and still get the flair of a higher end steak house

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperhill, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Was Expecting More ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

After reading reviews on TA, thought this would be a GREAT place; but for us, the food was a little disappointing. We were really hungry for a very flavorful steak, & unfortunately are still searching .... However, we did have a good waiter, & the mashed potatoes & green beans were tasty. Nice decor. Wouldn't go out of our way to eat here again, tho.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tahoe Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Tahoe Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tahoe Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.