We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow what a difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Visalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Visalia to your Saves list
Super 8 Visalia
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4801 West Noble Ave, Visalia, CA 93277   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wow what a difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

We had previously stayed here in 2005, so on our way to the sequois stayed again,WOW all new beds, carpets, and painted showers with arc rod and power showers,they really have upgraded it,quodos to the owners and management we'll be back,

  • Liked — renovation
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    35
    15
    14
See reviews for
32
31
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

We had a large school group that stayed here while participating in the Odyssey of the Mind competition In March '07. While it is not a fancy hotel, it served our purposes just fine. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly, location was perfect - off a main road and close to grocery stores and restaurants and close to the competition location. Could use some updating and the pool was not heated when we were there, but for the price, it was a good deal.

  • Liked — location to the Odyssey of the Mind competition held in Visalia
  • Disliked — very plain, no frills ... but to be expected for the price and type of motel
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

I have to visit Visalia every so often for work. I've tried to find a better budget motel in the area, but without success. I keep ending up at this Super 8 branch because of its reasonable prices and strong wireless Internet access. The front desk staff and management really couldn't care less, and don't expect to receive the type of room you request (e.g., we booked a non-smoking king and got a smoking room with 2 queen beds).

If you don't need to stay right in Visalia, try the motels in Fresno instead. It's not that far away, and you'll find slightly better value at some of the better business-oriented motels there.

  • Liked — Strong wi-fi Internet access
  • Disliked — Not getting the room I requested
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in Fresno instead
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

I booked 3 rooms for 2 nights. I had prepaid the entire stay. I was travelling with my wife, my grandmother and my in-laws. I confirmed my reservations with the front desk days before to make sure I would get what I was paying for.

I understood exactly what I was getting into. I stayed here for a reason; it was cheap enough for those travelling with me but it "had" A/C and a bed. I wasn't expecting anything more and anything less

We arrived at approximately 9:00 PM. The only rooms available were separated from each other which was not a problem. The outside temperature was at least 95 degrees if not more. I had already learned that there were no other available hotel rooms within 25 miles.

I went into my first assinged room and it was at least 85 degrees. I reported the problem to the front desk clerk who was very helpful. She moved me into another room which was still not cool but at least cooler that the first room. Again, I have realistic expectations when paying under $65/night so I wasn't about to make a big deal.

We soon get a knock from my mother-in-law telling us that my grandma's room is an inferno! We go to my grandma's room and the heater had been left on the whole day. This room was literally hot enough to roast a turkey. The inside temperature was hotter than the outside temperature. I tried to turn the heat off and the A/C on with no success. I went to the front desk and there was now a young-man who was not able to help me. This employee stated he didn't have any other rooms so I couldn't blame him for his inability to help me. He did manage to turn the heater off and get the A/C on low. At this rate, the room would never have cooled even to a comfortable room temperature. Leaving my grandma in this environment would likely have resulted in elder abuse charges by the Sheriff.

Soon later, the desk clerk admitted there was another room that was already reserved by another person (who had not yet showed up). I asked to have that room but he told me that he couldn't do it. I tried to explain that it would be better to give me the room and get me off his case and he could have an A/C tech come out to take a look at the defective unit. He may have been able to have the unit repaired before the other customer showed up. He would not go for it. I asked to speak to his manager. He told me that he would have to call his mother (the desk clerk I had earlier dealt with). I spoke to the mother and told her that this was not acceptable. I demanded to speak to the owner. I was then informed that he was in L.A. and could not be reached. I asked, what if there was a fire today. Would you not be able to reach him? She then made contact with the owner and the options given to me were a refund or keep the room. Wonderful! I can sleep with my grandma or I can put everyone in the car and drive 25 miles to another motel. I was too tired for these games. They did attempt to locate a fan to help in the cooling of the boiling room. The fan was never located. This still would not have helped.

After one hour, one more option was given to me; they would refund me for the one room and give me a bed so my grandma could sleep with me and my wife! Nice! That's customer service at this hotel. I can now have the luxury of being refunded for the hellisht room (they intended to make me pay for it until I became to big a problem for them!) Again, I don't blame the employee.

One cannot blame the employee. The owner/management fails to maintain the rooms in a working condition giving the employee nothing to work with. In addition, the furniture was falling apart in all three rooms but I overlooked this as I hadn't booked the Ritz.

After trying to haggle that room into my possession, they finally relent. After calling the supposed customer, they find out that the customer had already checked in and would not need that room!

The young man thought I was going to hit him. I would never have hit him but I couldn't believe what it took to get a decent room. It had taken about 2 hours, but I now had a room for my grandma. The purpose of this trip was to take my grandma and in-laws to Sequoia National Park. All this hell to be able to visit a Sequoia.

If I could give it a 0, I would have. I have stayed in pitiful places in third world countries that were not as bad as this place. Their ice maker also broke down on Day 2 to make things even worse.

I gave management time to respond to my issues. I responded to the Super 8 customer satisfaction email and postcard and told them I expected a response to my horrible experience. It has been over 2 months and they never responded.

I ignored the couple of negative opinions on this forum to my detriment. DO NOT STAY HERE! SPEND THE EXTRA $ AND SAVE YOURSELF THE NIGHTMARE.

IF YOU STAY HERE AND HAVE A BAD EXPERIENCE, THE LEAST YOU CAN DO IS POST AN OPINION TO WARN OTHERS!

NEVER AGAIN!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — Inoperative A/C, broken furniture
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2005

Fairly standard motel room, clean and more than adequate for a one night stopover - likewise for the continental breakfast.

Swimming pool was smaller than it looks in the pictures here, but then it's not the sort of hotel where you expect olympic standard facilities.

Located by the freeway, and a few miles from downtown, so more suited to those making a stopover on a trip to the national parks than those wanting to see Visalia.

Reception staff were friendly and provided directions to Main Street, where there are plenty of nice places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2005

Our rooms were filthy, the sheets were scratchy, and the sink leaked so we had to put a trash can under the sink and use the bathtub to wash our hands. Alright, we could deal with that - but the worst part was that the maid stole a very expensive ring right out of our room! The staff at the hotel did nothing to help us get it back, and they weren't even apologetic. Our one night stay at the motel was the absolute worst night ever away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2004

We stayed one night on our way to San Francisco.

Motel was fine. Room clean. No problems here.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Visalia

Address: 4801 West Noble Ave, Visalia, CA 93277
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Visalia 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Visalia Hotel Visalia
Super Eight Visalia
Visalia Super 8
Visalia Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.