We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate for business travel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Visalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Visalia to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Visalia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 South Akers Street, Visalia, CA 93291   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate for business travel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here for several nights in February. The hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Fairfield Inn. The location is 10 minutes from the Visalia Convention Center but those who have the option would probably prefer to stay at the full service Marriott that is within walking distance of the convention center. This hotel did have a fairly nice indoor pool as well as a hot tub. The room was clean and comfortable, though the hotel overall gave the impression of needing to be updated. The area of the hotel smelled strongly of manure. I thought this may have been due to nearby farmers spreading their fields but the oversized air freshener positioned at the entrance to the hotel made me wonder if the stink was a common problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Visalia, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking time give a review on our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are glad to see that your overall stay was pleasant. As for the smell, yes we do have several daries in Central California and during the winter months they can be a little on the strong side. We hope you had a safe travel home and hope to see you again in the future!
Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
19
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Because the Fairfield Inn Visalia Sequoia got a fair number of favorite reviews, we opted to give it a test run on an impromptu visit to Visalia a couple of weeks ago. It's easy enough to spot right off Highway 198, nestled into a newish, well-maintained area. Check-in was effortless, personnel seemed eager to please and there was plenty of outdoor parking along the perimeter. Hallways seemed a bit institutional in feel and the rooms spartan. Even with the close proximity to the highway, we had no issues with traffic noise, though in warmer months when windows are open it may be another matter.

Our room was pretty utilitarian with the overall ambiance plain wrap-- it it was clean, comfortable and served well for a good night's sleep. It was furnished with the bed, one nightstand, a desk, a sofa, dresser with two drawers only, a microwave, coffee maker and a small fridge. (an ironing board and iron, hair dryer, shampoo and conditioner were also thoughtfully provided by way of amenities.) One odd feature was that the room had no closet; simply a small rack and hangers. I'm not sure if the lack of closet is standard in all rooms or if ours was an exception. In any case, given the lack of storage the room doesn't seem a good candidate for longer stays, making me wonder why they'd opted to fill up space with a mini fridge and microwave-- both more likely to be used staying more than an overnight. Oddly enough, since I'd opted for a room with a single queen bed, we were given a handicap room, which presented a few issues I'll get to in a moment.

For a wheelchair patron, this room was well-appointed. Peephole and locks on the door were adjusted to wheelchair height, as were the furnishings. Though I didn't actually come prepared with a tape measure (my specialty back when I was in the travel industry happened to be handicap travel), I'm willing to bet that there is ample space on both sides of the bed for wheelchair-to-bed transfers, and doorways are comfortably wide. Bathrooms are spacious with plenty of room for a wheelchair to maneuver; The toilet seemed to be standard, but had a sturdy grab rail adjacent; wash basin and mirror are also lowered for ease of wheelchair use and the tub/shower combination equipped with a fold-down seat. Obviously, this arrangement is suitable only for someone able to perform a transfer from chair to shower seat; for someone requiring more specialized facilities (such as a roll-in- shower), this arrangement would be less than optimal.

The down side of this room? There was no closet, as I'd mentioned, and the clothing rack had been set at a level which is fine for a wheelchair patron-- unfortunately, if you happen to be traveling with a full-length dress as I was this trip, there was nowhere to hang long garments. Not horrible, granted; and probably an unlikely scenario for most travelers. Fortunately, we were able to get by just fine by draping my dress across the sofa for the night-- but should anyone else be in a similar situation, it's something to consider. A second issue was the shower, which is also designed to be used by the non-ambulatory with the shower head affixed at an unusually low level. To my six-foot husband, this was a bit of an inconvenience, since he didn't care to sit while showering. I'm thinking that opting for a detachable shower nozzle (the one in this room was not) might have made the issue a bit more manageable for non-handicap guests. Between the shower and the lowered bathroom mirror, I'd thinking that someone six feet or taller might do well to ask for a different room if placed in this situation.

In addition to indoor pool facilities, this property also includes breakfast with the cost of the room: hard boiled eggs, dried cereal, pastry, do-it-yourself fresh waffles, yogurt, fruit, juice and coffee made up the offerings. The dining area was clean and well-tended, and there was certainly an ample array of foods to start off the day. I was glad to see it wasn't all junk food as I've seen at some breakfast buffets.

Probably what scored the highest for us was the phone call we got from the front desk shortly after we'd checked in, just checking to make sure everything was OK and that we were comfortable-- a lovely touch we certainly appreciated. And given that this is a Marriott property, I was particularly surprised at this gesture, which scored a few extra points in my book.

In short, it's a decent tourist class property, managed by people who actually seem to care. It would be confusing for me to give a four-star rating to a three-star establishment, but if you go in with realistic expectations, I think you'll be more than pleased with your stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Visalia, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest
What a great review. Thank you so much for taking the time to evaluate our hotel and share it with others. We love getting feeback! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay and that the service was great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandenberg village, ca
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights and was impressed with the staff, from checking in, eating breakfast and then checking out. Unfortunately we had a room on the first floor (always request upper floors) but it was OK. Near the pool but no noise problems.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Visalia, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your comments. We enjoy hearing about our guests experiences and are happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed 1 night on the way down to Palm Springs.
We were allocated a room with a very big bathroom the bathroom was clean with a powerful shower.
The room itself was big with a useful desk and comfortable chair .
The room had 2 large3 beds which were comfortable.
The a/c worked and was efficient and quiet

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Visalia, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and passed the information on so others may know. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a very good choice for us to stay in while we tried to visit the Sequoia National Park. Unfortunately, and not any fault of the hotel, our illustrious government closed the park the day we had planned to visit. We drove from Texas to see this park and we were just a little perturbed❗️ The hotel was in fact a great choice and the staff there worked hard to please in every way. We would highly recommend this one to any of our fellow travelers❗️

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Visalia, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Jim

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very sorry you were not able to visit the Sequoia's this trip. I will however, pass your remarks onto the staff. We appreciate the guests voice very much!
Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I checked in to this Fairfield on a Sunday and asked for a room with a fridge as I was going to be there all week.
Sabrina and Kyrie between them allocated me a bigger room (sort of a suite) with a fridge AND a microwave. Good work by them.
Housekeeping at the is hotel is also excellent : well done rooms with mints every day and welcome notes from the staff - unusual but nice.

Overall a good week's stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side away from Akers are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Love this place! The family place to stay from LA to see the giant trees at Sequoia. Austin at the front desk was professional and saw to our needs! We drove up from LA in AM on Saturday and saw the trees and came here at 7pm. Boys loved the pool! And we are home by noon on Sunday!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Visalia

Address: 140 South Akers Street, Visalia, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Visalia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Visalia Hotel Visalia
Fairfield Visalia
Visalia Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.