We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairfield Inn, Visalia, CA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Visalia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Visalia to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Visalia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 South Akers Street, Visalia, CA 93291   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fairfield Inn, Visalia, CA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

About what you expect from a moderate priced chain hotel. Fast, pleasant check-in. Free cookie. Continental breakfast was above average. Clean room, nothing fancy. Pool. No exercise room, but they gave us a free pass to a nice exercise facility down the street. I would stay here again. There is a Denney's and Pizza Hut next door and an Applebee's across the street.

Room Tip: Ice machine is on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Visalia, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Rhonda
We appreciate your business and feedback. I am sorry we do not have a gym on site but do hope you were able to use one of our free passes to Life Styles. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the Denny's next door. I am sure this was a really nice hotel 20 years ago. Not up to Marriott standards and not deserving of its AAA rating. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else. First room smelled of smoke and looked like it had not been cleaned...wrinkled beds and missing towels. Second room had no mini-fridge and the air conditioning did not work. Third room was better but had a torn shower curtain and a big stain on the carpet. Beds were like hammocks. Staff was NOT helpful or pleasant. The lady monitoring the breakfast was rationing waffles and orange juice...she actually told us she could not refill the OJ for another hour as people were drinking too much of it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macgruber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Visalia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Richard C.

We appreciate your comments and would like to say how sorry we are for not living up to our Promises. We have shared your information with our staff to ensure nothing like this happens again. I am sorry I was not able to talk with you during the time of your stay. If you have any further issues, please don't hesitate to contact the hotel directly and ask for the General Manager.

Regards
Molly Bambl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Visalia hotels

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
410 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay the night before we went to Sequoia. This Fairfield Inn fit the bill. Check-in was quick and very friendly. The room was clean and had everything we needed. Bed was comfortable with a duvet and several pillows. There was even a small refrigerator. My only complaint was the A/C unit which was noisy every time it went on and off. It took a while to get used to it.

The free breakfast buffet was very nice. There was something for everyone including hot and cold dishes, fruit and juice. No one went away hungry. Better than most.

Free internet was also included, and it even worked! Plenty of parking, too. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igolfCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

No, it's not a 4-star hotel, but it is clean, which is very important to me. I couldn't get into the Hampton Inn, which would have been my choice, because it was full. Marriott hotels are so different from hotel to hotel that it's hard to know whether or not the one you get will be nice or horrible.

The room is adequate, although it could stand to have a few more hangers. There is a microwave and refrigerator in the room, which is nice when you are staying for 2 weeks. The TV works well, but does anyone really need so many news and sports channels? How about some different channels?

The A/C unit works fairly well although it is a bit noisy and the plastic piece over the vents desperately needs to be dusted. The bathroom is clean, but the tub is chipped in places. There is wireless internet in the room, which is nice, and it has fairly good speed.

Whoever chose the decor must have been blind, though. Green checked carpet, a red chair with a large orange leaf pattern on it and green striped curtains. Who thought those went together? Let me tell you - they don't.

The bed is comfortable and I didn't find any bed bugs, which is one thing that I will leave a hotel over.

Breakfast is adequate....well, almost adequate. It would be nice to have hot food that isn't home made waffles or something you tossed in the microwave. Fortunately, Denny's is right across the parking lot.

Hopefully my company will pay for something a little better next time, but if they don't, I would probably stay here again. As long as the idiot across the hall isn't here again - pounding on doors very early on a Sunday morning is irritating.

Room Tip: The one I had faced the front of the building...not exciting at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breezanemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netiv HaShayyara, HaZafon, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We visited Visalia as it was the closest lodging we could get to Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. We were a group of two couples and we booked two rooms, one King and one double Queen. Arriving at our rooms, we only had to open our doors to be welcomed by the overwelming stink to cigarette smoke, our room was smoked in the bathroom en our friends' room in the bedroom itself. We went to report this to the front desk clerck who came by to spray some chemical solution to make the smell go away. For our friends that was enough, the solution somehow did the trick, our room was beyond saving and we opted to change rooms. Given, the hotel has a no smoking policy and they can't control what their guest do in the privacy of their room, I still wonder though, how it's possible that the maid did not notice the overwhelming smell and how this was not taken care of before any new guests were to arrive???
Breakfast was simple but very cramped, to get to the buffet you had to bump into several people having their breakfast and people had to move their chairs to let you through.
I am not your typical nitpicker, but this time I cannot refrain from writing a less than positive review.
I will be visiting Sequoia and King Canyon NP again, but it is very questionable if I'll visit this hotel again, to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ofrit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 days. Found the staff to be very well trained and focused on making our stay comfortable. Found our room (2 queen beds) to be spacious and comfortable. Found the breakfast to be good (fresh fruit, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, waffles and assorted breads). Good location with Denny's, Applebee's, Pizza Hut, and gas station/mini mart all within walking distance of hotel. Tried to go swimming in indoor pool but found the smell of chlorine to be completely overwhelming. Other than that, I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libertysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We checked in @ 7pm after spending a day @ SNP. Check in was fast. We request a room facing the back of the hotel with a fridge, as well as extra pillow and towels, and we got them all. The room was clean and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast was not extensive like the ones at Residence Inn or SpringHill Suites, but it was OK. The hotel provides coffee, decaf and hot water all day long, but several in the evening I came down and there was no hot water or coffee available, but it was no amajor issue for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of hotel to be quiet. If you need a fridge in the room, call the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGrove92840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Visalia
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Visalia
Hampton Inn Visalia
#1 of 14 in Visalia
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Visalia/Sequoia Gateway
2.3 mi away
Wyndham Visalia
Wyndham Visalia
#4 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Visalia Marriott at the Convention Center
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 14 in Visalia
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Visalia

Address: 140 South Akers Street, Visalia, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Visalia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Marriott, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Visalia Hotel Visalia
Fairfield Visalia
Visalia Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing