We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Visalia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Visalia to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Visalia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 South Akers Street, Visalia, CA 93291   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Casselberry, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not great, but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

No, it's not a 4-star hotel, but it is clean, which is very important to me. I couldn't get into the Hampton Inn, which would have been my choice, because it was full. Marriott hotels are so different from hotel to hotel that it's hard to know whether or not the one you get will be nice or horrible.

The room is adequate, although it could stand to have a few more hangers. There is a microwave and refrigerator in the room, which is nice when you are staying for 2 weeks. The TV works well, but does anyone really need so many news and sports channels? How about some different channels?

The A/C unit works fairly well although it is a bit noisy and the plastic piece over the vents desperately needs to be dusted. The bathroom is clean, but the tub is chipped in places. There is wireless internet in the room, which is nice, and it has fairly good speed.

Whoever chose the decor must have been blind, though. Green checked carpet, a red chair with a large orange leaf pattern on it and green striped curtains. Who thought those went together? Let me tell you - they don't.

The bed is comfortable and I didn't find any bed bugs, which is one thing that I will leave a hotel over.

Breakfast is adequate....well, almost adequate. It would be nice to have hot food that isn't home made waffles or something you tossed in the microwave. Fortunately, Denny's is right across the parking lot.

Hopefully my company will pay for something a little better next time, but if they don't, I would probably stay here again. As long as the idiot across the hall isn't here again - pounding on doors very early on a Sunday morning is irritating.

Room Tip: The one I had faced the front of the building...not exciting at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
18
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Netiv HaShayyara, HaZafon, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We visited Visalia as it was the closest lodging we could get to Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. We were a group of two couples and we booked two rooms, one King and one double Queen. Arriving at our rooms, we only had to open our doors to be welcomed by the overwelming stink to cigarette smoke, our room was smoked in the bathroom en our friends' room in the bedroom itself. We went to report this to the front desk clerck who came by to spray some chemical solution to make the smell go away. For our friends that was enough, the solution somehow did the trick, our room was beyond saving and we opted to change rooms. Given, the hotel has a no smoking policy and they can't control what their guest do in the privacy of their room, I still wonder though, how it's possible that the maid did not notice the overwhelming smell and how this was not taken care of before any new guests were to arrive???
Breakfast was simple but very cramped, to get to the buffet you had to bump into several people having their breakfast and people had to move their chairs to let you through.
I am not your typical nitpicker, but this time I cannot refrain from writing a less than positive review.
I will be visiting Sequoia and King Canyon NP again, but it is very questionable if I'll visit this hotel again, to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 days. Found the staff to be very well trained and focused on making our stay comfortable. Found our room (2 queen beds) to be spacious and comfortable. Found the breakfast to be good (fresh fruit, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, waffles and assorted breads). Good location with Denny's, Applebee's, Pizza Hut, and gas station/mini mart all within walking distance of hotel. Tried to go swimming in indoor pool but found the smell of chlorine to be completely overwhelming. Other than that, I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Grove
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We checked in @ 7pm after spending a day @ SNP. Check in was fast. We request a room facing the back of the hotel with a fridge, as well as extra pillow and towels, and we got them all. The room was clean and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast was not extensive like the ones at Residence Inn or SpringHill Suites, but it was OK. The hotel provides coffee, decaf and hot water all day long, but several in the evening I came down and there was no hot water or coffee available, but it was no amajor issue for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of hotel to be quiet. If you need a fridge in the room, call the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvin, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had Bible class at Visalia First Assembly. The room was clean. Breakfast was good although everything was microwavable...nothing fresh... The bed was comfortable. Hotel was quiet. The Staff checked me in @ 9:30 am.Coffee available all day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

By strange luck I got special AAA rate and got into........Handicap room…..This room didn’t have normal sink, no place to put your tooth brash and razor, the TV set was designed to be below bed level and room had smell like someone died there recently. Moved out after first nigh.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The hotel staff were very nice and welcoming. The room was pretty clean but the wood was worn on some of the shelves. There was food underneath the couch and with my daughters food allergies we had to be really careful. The bathroom was big and felt clean, good water pressure. The indoor pool was freezing and the 2 times we swam there were no towels in the pool area. The hot tub was great. We asked for some towels and they said the would bring them but none were ever brought. My daughter couldnt eat anything at breakfast due to her peanut allergies as all of the muffins, cereal were not in their original containers. She was able to get a drink. The breakfast lady was nice and working hard to keep it clean. We opted for the larger room with the mocrowave/fridge.The beds were super comfy, and the hotel very quiet!! The room was big enough for a baby crib. Free newspapers in the morning were nice to have and the location is great if you are going to be in Visalia or on your way to Sequoia National Park. There is a pizza hut and Dennys and a gas station in the same parking lot. There is an Applebees across the street. Lots of restaurants and gas stations and a Target within 15 minutes. We needed the fridge and microwave so we could cook my daughters food and this was the closest hotel to Sequoia Nat'l Park that we could find that offered that. We would stay again for sure but it isnt paradise or anything:)

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd (top) floor..it was very quiet. You do have to go to the first floor for ice/drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Visalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Visalia

Address: 140 South Akers Street, Visalia, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Visalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Visalia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Visalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Visalia Hotel Visalia
Fairfield Visalia
Visalia Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Visalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.