We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Grill at the Lamp Liter

Garden Grill at the Lamp Liter
3300 W. Mineral King Avenue, Visalia, CA 93291
559-732-4511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 244 Restaurants in Visalia
Restaurant details
Glen Rock, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had breakfast here on our last morning before hitting the road back to Las Vegas. The staff was very friendly, and the food was great. I highly recommend the California Omelette!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, Usa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Nice staff - enjoyed breakfast (pecan waffle with bananas & strawberries). Closed by the time we got back from parks no suggestion for dinner.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Clean place, good service, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very friendly staff; the grill is part of the Lamp Liter hotel compound within walking distance of the hotel.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Reviewed this Mother's Day brunch on the hotel site.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hostess and initial server were rude. No accommodations for the frail or elderly who require assistance getting to and from the dining table. Food was alright.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Some employees were rude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a decent place to take his Mother for brunch and he saw an ad in the paper for Lamp Lighter Inn. He called and asked if we needed a reservation. He was told that we could come in and he said that we'd be there in 30 minutes, which we were. My Mother-in-Law needed help walking and thought she wouldn't need her walker but as we got up to the front where they were seating people, both my sister-in-law and I asked if there was a wheelchair available. We were told they don't have any. The hostess proceeded to take a long route around to where she was seating us in the bar area, which we didn't mind. Our initial female server was lacking on social skills until we got ready to leave. I again asked if there was a wheelchair available and she said they didn't have any. It would have been nice to be able to show my Mother-in-Law what the food looked like so she could pick it out herself. The food wasn't too bad but the hostess and our initial server should be a little more sympathetic to the elderly. This initial server was behind the bar when I went up to get my Mother-in-Law a glass of water. She made a comment that she would be right with me but her attitude upon arrival is what prompted me to get up and get the water myself. The gentleman behind the bar was most gracious. The initial server only helped me when I asked how to take a shorter route to our car so my Mother-in-Law wouldn't have to walk so far. It was only then that she was helpful. However, on the bright side, another server (Mark) was quick to offer his help with anything we needed. The gentleman behind the bar was also very helpful and those two employees are to be commended. I'm sure we'll go back, though, in spite of the hostess and initial server's attitudes. I'm only rating the service for the two employees who were helpful. Otherwise, the rating would be "terrible".

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Grill at the Lamp Liter also viewed

 

Been to Garden Grill at the Lamp Liter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Grill at the Lamp Liter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.