We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean place, good service, decent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Grill at the Lamp Liter

Garden Grill at the Lamp Liter
3300 W. Mineral King Avenue, Visalia, CA 93291
559-732-4511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 242 Restaurants in Visalia
Restaurant details
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Clean place, good service, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very friendly staff; the grill is part of the Lamp Liter hotel compound within walking distance of the hotel.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bradley
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Reviewed this Mother's Day brunch on the hotel site.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hostess and initial server were rude. No accommodations for the frail or elderly who require assistance getting to and from the dining table. Food was alright.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Some employees were rude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a decent place to take his Mother for brunch and he saw an ad in the paper for Lamp Lighter Inn. He called and asked if we needed a reservation. He was told that we could come in and he said that we'd be there in 30 minutes, which we were. My Mother-in-Law needed help walking and thought she wouldn't need her walker but as we got up to the front where they were seating people, both my sister-in-law and I asked if there was a wheelchair available. We were told they don't have any. The hostess proceeded to take a long route around to where she was seating us in the bar area, which we didn't mind. Our initial female server was lacking on social skills until we got ready to leave. I again asked if there was a wheelchair available and she said they didn't have any. It would have been nice to be able to show my Mother-in-Law what the food looked like so she could pick it out herself. The food wasn't too bad but the hostess and our initial server should be a little more sympathetic to the elderly. This initial server was behind the bar when I went up to get my Mother-in-Law a glass of water. She made a comment that she would be right with me but her attitude upon arrival is what prompted me to get up and get the water myself. The gentleman behind the bar was most gracious. The initial server only helped me when I asked how to take a shorter route to our car so my Mother-in-Law wouldn't have to walk so far. It was only then that she was helpful. However, on the bright side, another server (Mark) was quick to offer his help with anything we needed. The gentleman behind the bar was also very helpful and those two employees are to be commended. I'm sure we'll go back, though, in spite of the hostess and initial server's attitudes. I'm only rating the service for the two employees who were helpful. Otherwise, the rating would be "terrible".

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good ol country breakfast, plenty of hash browns !!!!The waitress knew the area and directed me to Sequoia Park

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The staff are fantastic, food hot and delicious, generous with the coffee and its good too. Prices are also quite good. Locals fill it up so get there early for breakfast and Sunday after 10 am it is hard to find a place to sit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Grill at the Lamp Liter also viewed

 

Been to Garden Grill at the Lamp Liter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Grill at the Lamp Liter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.