We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Visalia/Fresno KOA

Visalia/Fresno KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Visalia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Visalia/Fresno KOA
Save Saved
You added Visalia/Fresno KOA to your Saves list
7480 Avenue 308, Visalia, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited this site as part of a stopover on the way to LA from Yosemite. The staff were nice and friendly, had a park which we struggled to get our daughter off. Games room is a bit dated. Struggled to find the campsite as Sat Night got us lost and not great signage to the site.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My family and I chose to stay here mainly because we were planning on visiting the Sequoia Kings Canyon Parks, and this seemed like the best bet, plus from their website it seemed like a very nice shaded place (which with the high temperatures that Visalia/Fresno is known for is a must!).
We arrived and saw that the 2 sites that we were assigned had practically no shade at all, when I asked at the front desk if it were at all possible to at least move one if our units to a more shaded area the Asian lady who runs the place said "No, if you don't like it you can leave" WOW! What customer service, she was rude and no help in making the customer feel welcomed at all.
The pool has no shading only 4 tables with umbrellas, and a scorching hot ground. The pool for most of our stay was filthy! The water so bad and cloudy that- I kid you not- you could hardly see your feet! The last week we stayed (almost 4 in total) the pool was finally cleaned.
The pictures that are on the website show green and flowers, expecting you to think you are heading to a nice setting; nope, industrial buildings and ghetto looking houses surround this KOA.
The staff (other then the Asian couple that runs the place) are all nice and try to be very helpful and accommodating.

Internet is hardly existent.

This place is ok if you are just dropping by for the night, like I saw many campers doing. NOT for long term stay though.
Won't be coming back here again, that's for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had a great couple of days at this KOA. Great site - nice pool and clean restrooms. Hosts were very helpful and friendly. Games room kept kids entertained too. Stayed here July 2013. The only downside was that the wifi was slow and we experienced intermittent problems in connectivity (as did others).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very friendly helpful staff. They have a store with little essentials that you might need, or have forgotten. the staff made useful suggestions on great restaurants and sights.The place is very clean and very quiet. The only problem I had was that the wireless Internet they advertise is slower than dial up.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

**** A solid 4 star rating. We called the Visalia KOA campground after closing hours on a Sunday evening. Staff returned our call within 10 minutes. Located conveniently off the freeway, we appreciated this after a long day on the road. Camp hosts waited until we arrived & checked us into a nice quiet space close to amenities. Lovely, well cared for roses and flowers surrounding the grounds & faciticies greeted us upon our arrival. The campground, bathrooms and showers are clean, well maintained. Would return to overnight as we travel to/from our destination. Only reason not a five star; RV pad was rough, and, for us this would not be a long term stay campground as it is too close to industrial & residential housing.

Room Tip: Request a site inside the campground (quieter) to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waialua, Hawaii, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Started off loving it here! Owners live on site and are very friendly and helpful however, once the current camp host left the new one and his wife are awful! This KOA is very friendly for dogs and owners We have been here for a month now and everyone just loves our lab. I now have been harrassed by the camp host and his wife about my dog not being on a leash! I was stopped while riding my bike around the camp and my dog running beside me, then I was outside with my dog laying in the sun and his wife told me that my dog needs to be supervised at all times! Are you kidding me?!!! Hopefully camp host that rides around in the golf cart all day doesn't stay here too long!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Visalia KOA is a great little campground. It's got amazing green space for tent sites; nice, clean bathhouses and a great pool. The staff is friendly and helpful and the location is pretty good. It was about an hour to Kings Canyon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Visalia/Fresno KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visalia/Fresno KOA

Address: 7480 Avenue 308, Visalia, CA
Location: United States > California > Visalia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Visalia
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Visalia/Fresno KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.