We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Random stop - Food was good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
1423 E Noble Ave, Visalia, CA 93292
(559) 732-8881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 237 restaurants in Visalia
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Three Rivers, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Random stop - Food was good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was next door conducting some business when my stomach decided it was hungry. I saw the Thai Basil sign and decided to give it a try.

When I enter the place it was small, cozy and very clean. My order was taken promptly and food served in less than five minutes. The food was great and the spice was right on! Will dine again.

Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    24
    6
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“PineApple fried rice just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Overall disappointed with food and service. Untrained wait staff. Chicken was tough and dry. This used to be my favorite Thai food restaurant. Credit card machine down. Out of beef satay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“POOR FOOD TASTE AND LONG WAIT FOR FOOD....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I went to eat at Thai Basil for the first time. I was not impress by their food and service. I went there with my wife and the wait for the food took 25 minutes to be served to us. I got bored and hungry and drank all of my water. By the time the food got to our table, I didn't want to eat no more. The food taste was very poor. F+ for taste. The food didn't have any favor to it that makes it satisfying. I could only taste the spicy on the dish only. Table Mountain Casino Thai food taste better than this Thai Basil restaurant. Same dish mean comparing. The man waiter was running back in forth to this table. That was very annoying. I wouldn't not recommend this place to anyone. I spent $30 dollars on food that tasted like crap and I'll never go back there with my wife for a dinner night out. Best to spend your money on a Chinese buffet or American buffet... Even Carl's Jr. meal taste better. Again... F+ for this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We always get the pad see eu whenever we have thai. The pad see eu at Thai Basil was good but certainly not the best I've had. However, the place was packed within 15 minutes of them opening at 5 pm, so I'm thinking they have some EXCELLENT dishes that we just didn't order. I'd definitely eat there again if I was in Visalia, but I'd probably ask people at other tables for dish recommendations. By the way, the restaurant is a bit hard to find. It's small and way off the street (which isn't labeled at every intersection) in a parking lot sea of many shops both large and small, so don't give up if you're determined to get there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Didn't get any fool”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Arrived at 7:20, ordered soup as starter and main courses at 7:30. The table next to us, that ordered the same time, got their food within less than 10 minutes. We asked whether the soup is going to be served soon. Were assured it would arrive very soon. Eventually, the people at the table next to us were finished and payed their check. Watcing several people at other tables arriving and ordering and getting their food, we complained again at 8, telling we are very hungry and waiting since half an hour for a simple soup. Again, we were told soup is on the way. Continued watching that everyone else got food, just not us, we told the service we're going to leave at 8:15. They didn't even try to give the feeling they care about it.
Many reviews tell the food should be great, and what we saw looked good, we would just have enjoyed to have a look at our food, not just at the other tables.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.