We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night at the Movies” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Theatre

Fox Theatre
300 W Main St, Visalia, CA 93291
(559) 625-1369
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Visalia
Attraction details
Hawthorne, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Night at the Movies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Average theatre with multiple screens. Cute downtown area. Nice seating. The projection cut out in the middle of the film, but the house lights came up and it only took a couple of minutes for them to get it running again.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Just like the old days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My wife is a native of Visalia. We walked around the Main Street area and were amazed at the changes in the town. Most of the businesses she remembers from so many years ago are gone - replaced with new and interesting restaurants and shops.
She was delighted to look into the lobby of the Theatre to see that it looks much as it did 50 years ago. Elegant decor and architecture - a standard in movie theatres in those days. They apparently host a number of concerts and events, so it's good to see the old place alive and an active part of the community. Too many "historic" structures have been torn down in the name of progress...whatever that is.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Anything at the Fox: from church to big name acts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Kudos to the friends of the fox for
preserving this gem. Real community asset. Lots of free events. Office next door and website. Shows the grandeur I'd the silent film age. Anchor of the vibrant downtown. Have dinner at cafe 225 and drinks at fugazzis. Walk downtown in the early evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach CA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The Fox Theatre in Visalia is a gem. It is clearly historical with very cool architecture. It is on the main street with has wonderful shops and restaurants. And it is small enough to feel like you are getting a personal concert. I hope to be able to go back again soon.

Visited November 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FREE things to do in Visaila California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

With the recent economy and budgets I'm finding more and more entertainment that I can get for free-- my most recent is:

I love the Fox Theater and recently they have been having Free Movies and they are really good movies!!!! Alot of times it's associated with a fund raiser but that's kind of a bonus since you learn more about what's happening in the community!

This is a great place to have a date night that doesn't cost alot and then walk hand in hand down the street afterwards and get a bite to eat or just enjoy the evening ...

They even have a web site to check out what's playing !!! www.foxvisalia.org

Not sure what to do on a Saturday night?
Check it out I think you'll be pleasantly surprised!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.